Last Year’s Fortunes

This is a collection of 2005 fortune cookie related posts to my favorite Infertility DB. They chronicle my “habit” and maybe will give a little insight into how I’ve been coping with infertility so far. (Note: crazy is a recurring theme).

It started with this one:

Life according to my fortune cookie
Tuesday, 25 October 2005

Here is some wisdom in the form of a tiny white slip inside of my take-out Chinese lunch fortune cookie: “Good timber does not grow with ease; the stronger the wind, the stronger the trees.” Well gang . . . I guess we are one strong little forest of infertiles here.

Lucky number anyone?
Wednesday, 26 October 2005

This goes with my fortune cookie philosophy I guess . . . I am off to have my 7th IUI . . . that HAS to be LUCKY . . . right? God, I sure do hope so .

Maybe I eat too much Chinese take-out but . . .
Wednesday, 26 October 2005

I am addicted to fortune cookies and not too fond of actually cooking dinner these days. Well guess what it said tonight? I know I am reading too much into a simple cookie but it was a lot better than those ones that say “Your fly is open”
Here is tonight’s sage tidbit:
“You will be free of the heavy burdens you have been carrying.” I am going to assume “they” don’t mean my thighs. (Thin thighs would be nice too though!) OK, I am signing off for tonight. I hope no one thinks I am a complete nutbar . . . just hoping to make someone smile (including myself).

Made in the USA
Friday, 28 October 2005

I am not kidding. That is what my fortune cookie said today. “Made in the USA” What kind of rip off fortune is that?! My baby is made in the USA? Is that what it means? I am Canadian for goodness sake! Well, I do live here in the USA and my baby (should I ever be lucky enough to have one) will be made in the USA unless I get pg on a great vacation. Does this mean I am not adopting from China? Oh brother . . . ! At only 2dpiui do you think I’ll make it through this latest 2ww at this rate?

Mind Games
Monday, 31 October 2005,

I am playing mind games with myself. This happens every time and I keep thinking I can bypass it and then it happens again. Hopes soar which to me is jut too dangerous since the higher the hopes the worse the fall back to reality if things don’t turn out well. I am trying to stay neutral and mildly optimistic but I keep catching myself talking to the baby (silently in case anyone’s worried) and thinking thoughts like how will I decorate the baby’s room, etc. I have even bought a toy or an outfit in one of theses phases and that is a bit sad isn’t it? Thanks to my old friend OHSS I have this nice (not really) little belly to rub and pretend someone is growing in there. At the same time I live in fear that someone will look at this temporary OHSS bump of a belly and ask when I am due. Sigh. 5 dpiui and 9 days until testing or AF. What happened to “I am doing IVF in January so I don’t even care what happens this cycle?” I sure hope I get a good fortune cookie today!

Call me crazy but . . .
Wednesday, 2 November 2005

I am actually finding some odd comfort in these “omens” . . . I have kicked my take-out habit and just bought a box of fortune cookies to ration out daily. Today I got a handful of change from the toll booth lady and one coin was a half dollar . . . 1968 and silver, real silver. 1968 is my birth year. So I decided it was a good omen. Then I shared a fortune cookie snack with DH after supper and here is what mine said: “Your luck has been changed completely today.” (His had some warning about vanity which cracked me up because he does indeed have a vain side.) So all of this means absolutely nothing in the grand scheme of things . . . but if it gives me a glimmer of hope and a smile then what’s the harm? If these omens lead to REAL good luck I will have a theme for my novel: kind of a Bridget Jones meets fortune cookie loon meets exhausted new Mom . . . do think anyone will read it?? Well, I had better get to bed or I will only be crazier tomorrow.

Today’s fortune . . .
Wednesday, 16 November 2005

My fortune cookie today: “If you desires are not extravagant they will be granted.” Surely a baby is not an extravagant wish??

Happy New Year’s Eve!
Saturday, 31 December 2005

Today’s fortune cookie says: “Your love of gardening will take on a new meaning in your life.” Hmmmmm . . . Interpretations anyone?? I don’t know about gardening in the mid of winter but I plan to enjoy a cocktail or two tonight (while I can)!

One Response to “Last Year’s Fortunes”

  1. PortLairge Says:

    I have enjoyed reading your blog so far. I am just ahead of you on my second IVF cycle. I will probably be going for retrieval on Friday 13th. I wish you the best of luck on your cycle. Keep those fortunes coming.

Leave a Reply

