A mini-Poll for fellow IVF’ers

I don’t even know if it’s “OK” to conduct a poll in a Blog . . . you’ll have to forgive my ignorance and my tendency to cling to Discussion Board habits!

So, if you’re willing to humor me, here are a few questions for everyone:

Bedrest:
1) How strict and how long is your RE suggesting?
2) How strict and how long are you planning to actually stick to?

Embryo Transfer:
3) How many is your RE planning/suggesting to transfer? If it’s more than two, what reason does your RE give for the aggressive approach?
4) Given a choice how many would you like to transfer?
5) Does your clinic do 3 day or 5 day transfers and/or which are they suggesting for you and why?
6) ICSI or “regular” fertilization?

My answers:
1) RE says take it easy the day of the transfer, OK to go back to work right away unless job is strenuous/stressful
2) Taking day off, am also considering self imposed bedrest after reading that so many people are on it. (??Not sure though.)
3) Have not discussed specifics yet, probably two but may go up to three. He’s pretty cautious and conservative.
4) I plan to “push” for three if we have enough good candidates. (At 37 and with our history that does not seem excessive to me . . . but what do I know??)
5) 5 day transfers whenever possible. Reason as I understand it is to weed out the weaker blasts.
6) Our “plan” is 50/50 ICSI/Regular. The RE wants all regular I wanted ICSI so this is our compromise. If we get a low number of eggs for some reason he strongly suggests doing all regular. (I will defer to his expertise.) We will cross that bridge when we get there but historically, I overstim not under. But stranger things have happened in the wild and whacky world of infertility!

Thanks for taking the time to read and/or reply in the comments!

6 Responses to “A mini-Poll for fellow IVF’ers”

  1. Lindy Says:

    Bedrest:
    1) How strict and how long is your RE suggesting?

    He suggested what yours did – rest the day of the transfer, then take it easy til the blood test (no exercise, no sex, no swimming, limit lifting)

    2) How strict and how long are you planning to actually stick to?

    I actually decided to do a little more than suggested, because I had help available and I wanted a break anyway. I *mostly* stayed on the couch/in bed for 48 hours, getting up to pee and occasionally to get food, etc.

    Embryo Transfer:
    3) How many is your RE planning/suggesting to transfer? If it’s more than two, what reason does your RE give for the aggressive approach?

    We transferred two, he said he’d do three if they were in bad shape. On transfer day, he decided they didn’t look great, but good enough that he only wanted to transfer two since I’m under 35.

    4) Given a choice how many would you like to transfer?

    That plan sounded good to me. I think if the first round had failed, I might have pushed for three.

    5) Does your clinic do 3 day or 5 day transfers and/or which are they suggesting for you and why?

    They almost always do day 3 transfers. They only do day 5 if there are so many great looking embryos that they can’t tell which are the best two or three and they’re nearly certain two or three will survive to day 5. We grew our remaining 8 embryos out to day 5 to see if any were worth freezing and none of them made it, so day 3 was definitely the right choice for us. From what I’ve read, the per transfer success rates do go up a bit with day 5, but that probably has more to do with the fact that the embryos have to be in great shape to be candidates for day 5 in the first place. Embryos do better inside than outside, so we didn’t want to chance it. Day 5 is great if you’d otherwise consider transfering a larger number (say 3 or 4 or more) because it allows you to wait it out, see which ones are best, and then only transfer two. But it’s risky if you don’t have enough or they aren’t looking great.

    6) ICSI or “regular” fertilization?

    Initially I wanted to ICSI because H’s SA results were at the minimum cut off for motility and morph and below normal for count, but the embryologist explained that unless you have a serious male factor issue, ICSI generally has lower fertilization rates than non-ICSI. So we went non-ICSI all the way. 11 out of 12 fertilized, so it worked out well in the end.

  2. LeggyP Says:

    Bedrest:
    First re: 48 hours of strict bedrest. Second RE: 24 hours of strict bedrest. I followed first RE’s advice when I was under his care. For 2nd RE, I did 24 hours followed by taking it easy for the next 24-48.

    Embryo transfer: 4 the first time, 3 the second, 2 the third. Quality & quantity was so different each time, so that’s why we went with those various recs. Also, as we get older and since we already have one, less willing to risk quads or triplets. Might go back to 3 again for FET or might try to only thaw 3 at a time so I get 2 FETs out of it.

    3 day vs. 5 day: IVF #s 1, 2, & 4 were 3 day. IVF #3 (embryos didn’t survive to transfer) was blastocysts. The theory of transfering earlier is that you can’t always tell quality by the way they look and its better to get them in natural enviroment sooner rather than later. RE’s really differ on this one.

    ICSI or not? ICSI

  3. PortLairge Says:

    I think this is great. Some people seem to think my RE is overly agressive with 5 embryos but he is usually conservative so this gives me a chance to explain.
    Bedrest:
    1) How strict and how long is your RE suggesting?

    Bedrest the day of transfer. Up for short periods to pee and eat. The clinics paperwork says the same for the second day but he said I can be sitting at my computer, but I have to stay home.
    Pelvic rest for 1 week. Carry a small purse.

    2) How strict and how long are you planning to actually stick to?

    Day of transfer I lay on the couch. Today I am sitting on the couch with my little bed desk with my computer. Happy as a clam. I plan to work from home for the rest of the week because I can. If I couldn’t do that, I would go back to work tomorrow.

    Embryo Transfer:
    3) How many is your RE planning/suggesting to transfer? If it’s more than two, what reason does your RE give for the aggressive approach?

    My RE has a formula he follows based on age and embryo condition. My first IVF, he transferred 4. That failed. We had 2 more embryos and they didn’t make it to blast. Second fresh cycle- had transfer yesterday. We had 13 embryos. Two were deemed perfect. He transferred 5(I am a year older) Our male factor is quite severe so there is a huge possibility we won’t even get to implantation. I am waiting to hear how the remaining embryos are doing

    4) Given a choice how many would you like to transfer?

    I was happy with 5. My RE is conservative. He disccuses his reasoning with me and always listens.He has never had quads, he rarely has triplets. I will be thrilled with twins. If we end up with triplets, we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it. I do not expect that to happen but am prepared to deal with it if it does.

    5) Does your clinic do 3 day or 5 day transfers and/or which are they suggesting for you and why?

    My RE always does 3 day transfers because we may end up with nothing to transfer and he thinks inside is better than outside. In our 1st IVF we would have had nothing to transfer id we waited until day 5.
    6) ICSI or “regular”
    fertilization?

    ICSI all the way for us. Severe male factor.

  4. D Says:

    Bedrest:
    1) How strict and how long is your RE suggesting?

    He said bedrest the day of transfer and the following day.

    2) How strict and how long are you planning to actually stick to?

    I followed his orders and also took an additional day off and really took it easy that day.

    Embryo Transfer:
    3) How many is your RE planning/suggesting to transfer? If it’s more than two, what reason does your RE give for the aggressive approach?

    Going into the IVF he was recomending 2-3. When I only produced 4 follicles the plan was to go with whatever fertilized.We transferred 3 (2 eight celled and a five)

    4) Given a choice how many would you like to transfer?

    We were happy with transferring 3

    5) Does your clinic do 3 day or 5 day transfers and/or which are they suggesting for you and why?

    My clinic does both. Mine was a three day as we only retrieved 4 eggs. All 4 fertilized but they did not want to take a chance of having none to transfer.

    6) ICSI or “regular” fertilization?

    We had ICSI. Doc said we had too few eggs to risk the regular – he said higher fert rate with the ICSI. We ended up with 4 for 4, so it worked out good.

  5. Liz Says:

    Bedrest:
    My dr states I should rest the day of the transfer and take it easy until the day of the beta.

    I am planning on 3 days of bedrest and will take it easy after that.

    Embryo Transfer:
    My dr is suggesting we transfer 3. We’ve transferred 2 blasts and 2 6 cells and it hasn’t worked so at this point I’m willing to transfer 3. If they are blasts I might only do 2.

    3 day or 5 day transfer:
    The clinic prefers 5 day transfers. The first cycle we did a 5 day transfer and the second we did a day 3. I’m hoping for another 5 day transfer.

    ICSI or regular fertilization:
    We’ve done regular fertilization and it worked great the first cycle but with the second there were problems with the egg and sperm communicating so this time we are not taking any chances and will do ICSI.

  6. Kellie Says:

    1. Our RE recommended 48 hours of fairly strict bedrest. No getting up to prepare meals or to even sit up and eat. I followed that pretty strictly

    2. See above

    3. Transferred 2. We did donor egg (I am 6dp3dt). In donor egg cycles, they rarely do more than 2 at my clinic.

    4. Sounded ok. We have 6 on ice, so if this one doesn’t work, I may push for more than 2 if we do a FET

    5. Day 3 transfers almost exclusively. We had 2 8 celled compacting embryos. Their theory is that they are better in me than in a dish.

    6. We did regular. DH’s sperm have never been a problem.

    Good luck to you!!

Leave a Reply

