Holding Pattern

There is not really anything to report here that is “news.”

My EL is up to 11mm now which is good. I have 7 follies in play on the right and 4 on the left plus “a lot” of smalls on each side which (if I am interpreting the U/S tech’s vague responses correctly) can still catch up all of a sudden and come into play. The thing that is puzzling me is that the measurements of said follies have not really changed significantly since Wednesday’s U/S, most are still measuring an average of 12mm. The good news is that 11 follies is a generous number to work with, and they are all very close in size which is important because during my IUI cycles I tended to have 1 that “got ahead” and took over which meant that the smaller ones were useless and did not release at trigger. So overall the report is still very good at this point. I’m curious to see what today’s E2 comes up as. I won’t get the call until 3pm or so. C. thinks it’s amusing that I insist on wearing my lucky socks to every appointment. I can’t afford to miss out on their good vibes for even one wanding . . . imagine what could happen! (For anyone’s that’s worried, I do launder them for each occasion.) Part of C.’s amusement is my struggle to juggle the laundry routine when I have RE appointments two days in a row.

I go in again tomorrow. This is getting old, but it is also to be expected. My insides are getting rather sore so the “wanding” is getting rather more unpleasant each time. And for the record, s*x at this point really sucks. I don’t recommend it. Live and learn. I just figured it is only going to get worse over the next couple of weeks, so we should get one last hurrah in. (OK, more truthfully I wanted to flush the lines, so to speak! We need some brand new fresh from the factory soldiers for this mission!) Our little romp last night, while not memorable, hot or exciting did manage improve morale at our house. I somewhat hessitantly kissed my toad, and while he did not turn back into a prince quite yet, I don’t want to smack him today so that is an imrovement anyway. And the “O” probably did my nerves some good as well. Though with the pain thrown in, it was a narrow margin trade-off at best.

Writing that, I just got to thinking: hey ladies . . . remember when O stood for org@sm and not ovul@tion?? God, this infertility thing really sucks . . . sucks and sucks and sucks the fun right out of life! Blech! S*x for fun? Really? People do that?

OK, I’m over that now.

So . . . I am getting a little antsy to know when this retrieval might be. But you can’t rush a good thing, I guess. The vague U/S tech chose not toplay my guessing game at all. And the blood draw nurse’s best guess was “sometime the middle of next week.” We’ll see what Dr. P’s partner says tomorrow. She is the doc on call and thus doing all Saturday scans. (She was my original RE until I switched to Dr. P. I doubt she even remembers that by now since I’ve been a patient at their practice since March 2004. I used to feel paranoid that she minded my ditching her for him. I am sure she has bigger things to think about.)

I’ll update with an E2 when I hear. In the meantime I better get back to earning a living so I can pay for all this fun and frivolity. I have an acupuncture appointment this afternoon. So, at least I’ll get a nap in today.

PS I have not had the urge to cry or snap anyone’s head off (yet) today and it’s almost noon. So, I think it’s going to be a good day. I hope I didn’t just jinx myself!

4 Responses to “Holding Pattern”

  1. thalia Says:

    Beagle you sound like you’re in good shape. Congrats on managing the deed yesterday goodness knows I didn’t at this stage of the cycle, I just got my husband to freshen up his soldiers himself!

  2. Lindy Says:

    I’m with Thalia – self-freshening was H’s preparation for the cycle. We didn’t even have sex while I was on BCPs!

    It sounds like you’re in good shape. I coasted for a couple of days with the follies staying about the same size and it worked out ok. Retreival was a little later than I’d expected, but no big deal.

    As for playing the guessing game… I’m going to guess trigger on Monday, retrieval on Wednesday. But what the hell do I know?!?!

  3. Fertility Faux Pas Says:

    Keeping my fingers crossed for a nice E2 number today. I’m also impressed with your sexual prowess. D was on his own in that department too! Best of luck and keep us posted…

  4. Liz Says:

    Things are looking good. I hate the daily trips to the clinic but what can we do. Glad you freshened up the lil guys.

Leave a Reply

