Textbook Perfect

I am so excited I can hardly type!

The IVF lab just called to say that 9/10 ICSI’d eggs fertilized! She went on to say that they were “textbook perfect zygotes.” She sounded as excited to tell me this as I felt to hear it! They will not even check them tomorrow, the next report will be on Monday. (Thankfully I have a painting class all day tomorrow).

As of right now, they plan on a 5 day “blast” transfer which would be Wednesday. I asked her what if they’re not so “perfect” by Monday and she said we’ll wait and see, but her gut feeling is that these guys are going to make it to day 5 blast’s.

I know Hope is a mean girl but I just invited her in. I have not been this hopeful in over a year. I was so upset back when we found out about C.’s antisperm antibodies (pre-blogging) because I was so focused on the lost time and money doing procedures that would never work all for saving a non-routine test (antibody screen). In all fairness to my docs, they had no reason to test for this. C. does not fall into the risk group for the kind of anitbodies he has. Anyway the point of all of this is that it has finally dawned on me that IVF might really work, even after two and a half years of failure. Because now we are actually treating something very specific.

I also feel such a burden lifted about my feelings about my own body’s failings, because maybe it just never had a chance before now. I had “young” eggs yesterday and now perfect zygotes! I am just so proud of C. and I for getting this far!

I have always been so reluctant to let Hope in the door. The fall seems harder, the higher your Hopes rise. But I have decided that just this once, what the hell . . . all I have right now is the possibility that this might work and I may as well enjoy that. If dashed Hopes are our destiny, then being miserable two weeks in advance is not going to save me either.

To Hope I say: It’s never to late to switch sides and come join the nice girls . . .

****this was originally posted on Saturday, Feb. 4th. But, by some blogspot glitch, it disapeared and those who could view it couldn’t accesss the comments. Not sure what that’s all about, but I am re-posting it.

6 Responses to “Textbook Perfect”

  1. Leggy Says:

    I was one that wanted to try to comment. I’m so happy all looks good. Grow embies, grow!

  2. Lori Says:

    Great news! I’m so glad to hear all continues to progress so nicely.
    Hope can be cruel at times but when she’s nice – it’s so worthwhile.

  3. Paola Says:

    Hey it sounds really, really good.

    I can’t wait to know how things are going on. I am sure everything will go perfectly on Wednesday.

    I am keeping everything crossed for you!!!

  4. Fertility Faux Pas Says:

    Wonderful fert report! So glad to hear that everything has worked out so well for you. Can’t wait to hear the next update.

  5. LB Says:

    Go embies…. Go embies…. Go embies! Isn’t it a bizarre thought that your possible future children are sitting in a lab somewhere right now? I’m really pulling for you! Take care of yourself!

  6. Just another Jenny Says:

    Amazing! I am so glad to hear your good news. Thankfully they did ICSI on all of them. Can’t wait to hear how it goes on Weds. Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

