Home again, reluctantly

Most vacations I am more or less happy to get home. It’s great to get away and then it’s nice to be home again. This vacation was an exception, it was very hard to get on the plane. I wanted to stay . . . SO BAD! Maybe the “what” awaits me at home was the problem . . . no big rush to do this IVF thing again if I could stay at the beach instead.

We had a very nice time. How could we not? It was warm and sunny, no doctors appointments, no needles . . . sex “just” for fun . . . moderate intake of alcohol, raw fish and soft cheese allowed . . . scuba diving allowed . . . you get the idea. An entire 9 days of not worrying about what increases or decreases chances for conception, not enduring infertility procedures, etc. In other words: nine days of “every day normal life.” Well, it can be argued that neither vacation in general nor Key West in specific can be called “normal every day life.” But let’s not mince words here. Last week was the closest I’ve felt to normal in a very long time (thirty months, give or take), not that I’m counting.

Now, it was not complete paradise (pretty damn close though). Our flight there sucked, our flight home was great (the actual flight part, not the going home part). Our hotel sucked, but we changed after one night to a really nice one and got that first crappy night refunded which made up for the fact that hotel #2 cost more. I had occasions where my worry took over and I had something like a panic attack . . . but those passed without too much trauma and the overall good time memories make those clouds of doom seem like a blip on the radar screen of happiness.

I had a really cool palm reading experience which I will devote an entire post to at some point. I did it for the “entertainment value” but this guy was scary accurate on a few things . . . he also gave good baby predictions so I will remember him fondly, always!

Well, this is as far as I can get at this late hour. So, I will give more detailed report of our adventures in a later post. For now I must get to bed . . . I have an RE appointment in the a.m. SIGH . . . and so begins IVF round 2 . . .

12 Responses to “Home again, reluctantly”

  1. N Says:

    WELCOME BACK!

    I am glad to read that you had such a wonderful time. Am a bit envious about the sun part..need that too desperatey. Hope you got a nice tan.

    good luck for IVF #2. When will you start? Right away?

    Take care!

    /Nina

  2. Thalia Says:

    glad you had such a good time. It sounds absolutely lovely – I’m very jealous. I hope you can find the good side in being back.

  3. JEN Says:

    Welcome back! Now when you are feeling stressed you need to close your eyes and remember your vacation! Maybe it will help destress real life a little. Just think it could be only weeks until you are pg!

  4. MoMo Says:

    Welcome back! It sounds like you had a fabulous time…good..you deserve it. Good luck on your appointment and I am hoping only the best for you for this cycle.

  5. DD Says:

    That sounds like a very nice time in Normalville. I’d like to visit sometime.

  6. Leggy Says:

    Welcome back. I’m glad you enjoyed it, and sorry that coming home was so rough.

    Hope all goes well with the RE.

  7. PortLairge Says:

    Welcome home. We missed you and are glad you are back. I hope all goes well at the RE’s today. Think happy vacation thoughts while you are there.

  8. Lori Says:

    Welcome back! I’m glad you had such a lovely vacation.
    I too had an eerily accurate palm reading on one of my trips to Key West. I can’t wait to read about yours. Wish I could remember what he said about kids though…

  9. LB Says:

    Beagle-
    So glad you enjoyed your vacation! I looked for you on the Sloppy Joe’s web cam. Didn’t see you , but they had some good bands! It’s good to have you back!
    LB

  10. Just another Jenny Says:

    A vacation is the perfect way to start a cycle. I am glad you had a great time. Better to enjoy all those “pre-baby” luxuries now while you still can.
    It’s nice to visit with the normal world sometimes.

  11. Ornery Says:

    Welcome back! Hope you had those margaritas on our behalf! I’m so glad you had such a fantastic trip, and I hope those wonderful memories carry you through this next cycle.

  12. Pamplemousse Says:

    Sounds like a lovely trip, Beagle.

Leave a Reply

