I don’t mean to brag, but . . .

Among the lucky, I am the chosen one.

I needed a pick-me-up this morning, so I had a fortune cookie with my yogurt. And this is exactly what it said: “Among the lucky, you are the chosen one.” Wow! How great is that? I hope that means it’s my turn to “win” at IVF roulette. I’ll let you know in four weeks give or take a few days. I hope announcing my lucky status here does not jinx me!

Now on to more sensible matters:

Side effects: I had my first hot flash last night. Yuck. I woke up in a puddle of sweat. Thank God C. slept through it. Now I know what night sweats are and it’s not pretty. During the day, thankfully, this has not been an issue.

Back at the gym: After one week of vacation and a second week of poor resolve further weakened by a day trip and a weekend trip, I missed about 18 days straight in my workout routine. Monday, I literally dragged my butt to the gym and forced myself through the routine. Yesterday it was a bit easier to get there, but then when I arrived I discovered that my step aerobics has been switched to cardio kickboxing. This class was actually kind of fun, but now I hurt in places I didn’t even know I still had! For the record . . . I have yet to lose a single pound of my drug enhanced weight gain for all this effort. But, I do feel better.

AD’s: Yes, I decided to take the Zo*loft. What the hell. It seems to be doing some good. I can’t say that I am overcome with joy, happiness or renewed zest for life (I am on a tiny dose and don’t plan to raise it) . . . I am, however, MUCH less anxious. So, I am glad for some pharmacology in my repertoire that actually makes me feel better where all the others make me feel worse (not to mention sweaty)!

Our RE called last night: This always makes me feel special. (warped, I know . . . how special is it that I even need an RE??) He wanted to update me on the results of the IVF team meeting. Our SA sucks. (This is not really news, but the RE finally seems to accept that it is a “real” problem.) He had wanted to try forego ICSI again this cycle (much to my surprise) but the embryologists gave a resounding NO to that idea. They say C.’s specimens are too variable. There have been a few good ones, but the majority have been bad, and the one for IVF #1 was the worst yet. So ICSI is a definite now. I thought it odd that this was even up for debate. It’s my money, and I want ICSI even if it costs and additional $2,000! The only other “news” was that they want to “push” me a day longer to see if we can’t get a few extra eggs out of me. I thought ten mature was plenty . . . but who am I to say?

I hope I don’t seem too cocky, with that great fortune cookie and all . . . not to mention an unsolicited evening call at home from my RE . . . I’ll take my lucky charms wherever I can get them!

Wishing each of you all the lucky charms you need as well!

15 Responses to “I don’t mean to brag, but . . .”

  1. thalia Says:

    Wow, that is some fortune. I’d definitely be seeing that as an encouraging sign, myself.

  2. Maya Says:

    I say take everything positive that you can get you deserve it. I hope that it is true.

  3. MoMo Says:

    Wow..that is an awesome fortune. I hope it all comes true! I will be crossing my fingers for you!

  4. N Says:

    What a fortune cookie. Glad you started to post one of these again…it had been a while. In fact every time I go out and eat Chinese (which happens not very often) and afterwards get my fortune cookie, I think of you. I like that 😀

    Great RE that called you and good that you are now heading down the ICSI route. This might just do the difference! Good luck to you!!! Am also glad to read that you feel less anxiety!

    /N

  5. DD Says:

    If the Zo can take the edge off, then you’re right, there’s no need to up it. Who wants to be in a fuzzy-bunny and meadow-dancing mood all the time anyway?

    Tuck your fortune into your pocket book and pull it out anytime you need a boost. I’m wishing good luck for you as well from here.

  6. Lindy Says:

    That all sounds great. Well… except for the horrid night sweats, but at least that way you know it’s doing something, right? I always had this bizarre paranioa that I was actually injecting myself with sterile water every night.

  7. Donna Says:

    I agree, at this point I’d take all the luck I could get, no matter the source. Sorry about the night sweats – I get them all by myself (without the drugs).

  8. Just another Jenny Says:

    That’s a great sign, you can brag!
    We are doing ICSI too. I want one (or two) of those damn cute ICSI PIXIE t-shirts, a must have!

  9. Liz Says:

    Hold on to that fortune…it will come true. Sorry about the hot flashes…I know what that’s like. Wishing you the best with this cycle.

  10. Beth Says:

    Not only is that fortune cookie an encouraging sign, but I’d definitley tuck it away for future reference. Sorry about the night sweats, but glad to hear that your RE treats you like a member of the team in your treatment.

  11. sube Says:

    A fortune cookie with breakfast – there’s something about that I love. Here’s hoping the fortune comes true.

  12. meg from the egg Says:

    Beagle – excellent fortune cookie! Best of luck with the cycle. We’re going to have us an ICSI baby too..:)

  13. JEN Says:

    Beagle, take all the positive signs you can, wrap them up and tuck them away for the 2ww,when we are all needing to feel a little extra lucky! It’s great to see you sounding so positive, that will make a difference! Did they do ICSI last time?

  14. Beagle Says:

    Just to clarify: We did do ICSI last time too. And last time too, RE thought we didn’t need it but ebryologist strongly suggested it. (I wanted ICSI all along, so I was relieved when we did it).

    Thanks for all the great comments!

  15. Leggy Says:

    Excellent fortune. Are you sure your name isn’t Sydney Bristow? (If you don’t watch Alias, this probably means nothing.)

    Glad the Zoloft is taking the edge off. That’s exactly what the AD’s have done for me- take the edge off.

    Lupron sucks.

Leave a Reply

