Heads bitten off and other holiday traditions

Oh . . . if I only knew how prophetic my chocolate bunny cartoon would turn out to be . . . I’m sure C. feels like the bunny with his head bitten off . . . and yes, the incident was triggered by male style cluelessness! How many cycles does it take for a husband to catch on that these drugs make a girl less than happy? It was similar during the seven IUI cycles . . . so this does not seem like a really swift learning curve to me!

This weekend was rough. The combination of PMS and Lupro*n can make a girl unreasonable. Then when said girl hosts a holiday dinner it can lead to trouble. I won’t bore you with the details (mostly because I don’t have the energy to relive them). I had several major big cries this weekend. This worries me because I’m not even up to the three shots required during the stimms phase.

Suffice it to say that I pulled it together (just) in time for the dinner guests’ arrival. If they noticed my swollen, red, puffy “cry” eyes, no one mentioned it. But right up until the first knock on the door I was contemplating skipping town and leaving C. to explain why the hostess was AWOL. As usual I did “the right thing”. But I yelled and cried a lot before that.

So, when I went down my list of blogs and read several that had similar sad, angry, frustrating weekends . . . my heart went out to each of you. Why does this have to be so damn hard???

I am scared of the next few weeks. I will only get crazier with the addition of the gonadotropins. And this, folks, is with the addition of Zolo*ft to take the edge off. Imagine if I still had the edge on??

****edited to add:

I just discovered that I forgot my Saturday night dose of Z* . . . damn . . . I had also forgotten my Thursday night dose of BCP. I normally never forget a pill. This is not a good trend. I cannot forget an injection. I can’t imagine forgetting an injection but then I never used to forget pills either! Yikes!

10 Responses to “Heads bitten off and other holiday traditions”

  1. Lindy Says:

    I’m just so sorry and angry that you’re having to go through this all over again at all!

    Thinking of you.

  2. Chas Says:

    I remember having this fear of forgetting an injection…there was one shot that had to be taken within like a one hour time frame, and I had nightmares that I’d sleep through it and it’d all be for nothing.

  3. soralis Says:

    I just came across your blog, I wish you all the best with your cycle.

    Take care

  4. Ornery Says:

    I am so impressed that you were able to host a dinner so successfully! I become a nervous wreck whenever I have to host anything, even when I’m not overflowing with hormones!

    Thinking of you, and hoping that Z continues to take the edge off as you pursue what I truly hope will be your last treatment cycle.

  5. Maya Says:

    You get the “you’re amazing” award. There is no way I could have hosted a dinner under that kind of durress. You have a lot going on it makes sense that you are forgetting things. I hope all gets better for you.

  6. MoMo Says:

    You have to give yourself a lot of credit for being able to host a party while cycling for an IVF! That is awesome! I don’t think I can do it.

    I am thinking of you and keeping you in my prayers.

  7. N Says:

    I am really sorry that you had a similarly horrible weekend as I did. I am glad though I am welcome in you club of horror Easter! I fake smiled myself through the dinners too. Glad I can be pissed again now that I am alone!

    What does missing/forgetting the meds mean for your cycle? Any serious consequences? I hope not!

    I am sending hugs to you (in addition to the normal “take care”)

    Nina

  8. Mary Ellen and Steve Says:

    I am sorry that you had a hard weekend. I can’t imagine giving a dinner party on all these hormones. Good for you! You are obviously a much stronger woman than I.

    You are in my thoughts and prayers. I hope that this cycle goes well for you.

    Take good care of yourself.

  9. Liz Says:

    I know how hard all of this is. You are very brave to host a dinner party. Glad in the end it all went well. Hoping the side effects won’t be too bad and most of all that this will be a successful cycle.

  10. sube Says:

    Hang in there. I know it sucks, but you’ll make it through. Deep breaths. And chocolate. No matter what, chocolate helps.

Leave a Reply

