I am a regular comedian, so is my RE.

Today was follie check # 3, that makes me cycle day 9, stimms day 7, IVF#2. C. came with me today (this is rare). His shift was canceled and so he came along for the fun. RE actually commented that C. looked tired and how was HE feeling. RE caught himself and laughed, then asked C. if the injections and side effects were getting to him. V. funny Dr. Funnypants! RE did ask me how I was, and I smiled cheerfully with my new Zo*loft powered goodwill, and said “so far so good.”

Next Dr. Funnypants forgot the latex-free wand cover (again). He apologized (again). Mumbling something about how he doesn’t know why he can’t remember that I’m latex allergic after more than 2 years of this. (I wonder that too!) So I said “I have been tempted to get them out of the cupboard myself, but I thought that might be a bit forward.” He said I was free to help myself anytime.

Then we moved on the actual wanding. My lining is fine. My right ovary is looking busy and was easy to find. My left ovary was MIA. Dr. Funnypants was as gentle as possible but it still hurt. He wondered out loud where it was hiding. I suggested he look behind my tonsils. This got another laugh from Dr. Funnypants. He finally found it and the search was worthwhile since lefty is being the overachiever ovary this go around. Thank God I am having anesthesia for the retrieval, eh Jenny??

I go in again Friday. Look ma . . . no hands, err . . . I mean no numbers! I am still trying to avoid obsessing over lab values, follie size and counts. No numbers for me. I will ask for an E2 if Nurse M. calls. (So, OK, I still like numbers. In moderation.)

I asked Dr. Funnypants whether he can take a guess at when we’ll do retrieval. I expected him to say no, too early. He surprised me. He said Monday. I will believe it when I see it, but that would suit me just fine. I was afraid this cycle would drag on and on. Let’s get on with it, I say!

I think Dr. Funnypants is v. glad that I am taking Zo*loft. I am much more fun this way. I have not cried in his office yet this go around. But no worries, there is still time for tears. We all know that all to well!

So that is my report for today. So far, so good. NBHHY. I feel lucky for the moment.

Please go give some love and support to Nina and DD. They can no longer say NBHHY. I am very sorry that both their hearts are aching. I wish I could make it all better.

Edited to add: (E2 is 740, for those who like to keep track. I am staying detached.)

23 Responses to “I am a regular comedian, so is my RE.”

  1. soralis Says:

    I am picturing you going through the cupboard and getting your own wand ready! πŸ™‚

    Sounds like things are progressing well good luck!

  2. Chas Says:

    People actually do egg retrieval w/ no anesthesia??? Good grief. I couldn’t even walk comfortably anymore the day of mine, and I can’t imagine having them retrieved while awake.

  3. Just another Jenny Says:

    I gasped when I read about the left ovary, thank god you are getting anesthesia. I’d drive down there and give it to you myself if I had too. No fair, I want some zoloft too!
    You are right. No news is good news, I need to be more happy about my state of boredom. It’s bad news everywhere you look today.

  4. Liz Says:

    Glad you had a good appt. Sounds like things are going very well. I would be going crazy if I didn’t know how many follies I had. I didn’t ask about E2 b/c I didn’t want to obsess.

    Lots of grow follie vibes to you.

  5. the waiting line Says:

    Latex allergy?! Wow, I wonder how you learned about that allergy. . . . I hope it wasn’t during/after your first wanding!

    You should totally help yourself to the wand covers in the cupboard next time. That would be funny AND appropriate. πŸ™‚

  6. Beagle Says:

    Just FYI, true latex allergies are rare. I don’t have a severe one, more of a “sensitivity.” 10 years working in the OR wearing latex gloves, I developed a contact dermatitis, and when the RE uses those cheap condoms that they normally use, I get a rash and who needs that on top of all the IVF crap??

    They label me as allergic “just to be safe.” I like it that way because who needs a rash on their cooter??

  7. Ornery Says:

    Wow, I can’t believe you’re already close to retrieval time! I’m so excited for you, and hope that Friday’s appointment continues to show overachieving ovaries in action!

  8. Mary Ellen and Steve Says:

    It sounds like your cycle is progressing well. That is awesome!

    I spent way to much time obsessing over my e2 levels and follicle counts. Good for you for staying detatched.

    Good luck with everything!!

  9. Angie Says:

    I just wanted to pop in and wish you good luck! I’ll be thinking about you and sending lots of hope your way!

  10. Ann marie Says:

    First, I love anesthesia…
    Second, it seems your body is doing what it’s supposed to. Don’t think about it! Let the drugs do their magical work and stay detached…I always try to have the “it is what it is” attitude…good luck!

  11. Sarah Says:

    Zoloft and anaesthesia!! Cool. When the time comes, I get an IV drip with some goodies in the bag for the pain and that is about it!

    Good for you for not obsessing about numbers. Good luck!

  12. Lori Says:

    This is moving right along! And I’m glad it’s going so well for you. I’m wishing I’d had a little zo*loft….

  13. MoMo Says:

    Sounds like you are progressing very nicely. Good luck and I will cross my fingers and toes for you!

  14. N Says:

    Wow…how quickly you are proceeding. Anesthesia = great! Had it too and can only highly recommend it. Never understood how Jenny pulled through it without it!

    I am wishing you the best of luck for this round! I keeep it all crossed. Good that you dumped the socks…they don’t work!!!!

    Thanks for your sweet comments on my blog. They mean so much to me!

    Take care!

    Nina

  15. DD Says:

    You’ve had nothing but good things to say about that zo*loft. I’m seriously going to have to look into that.

    Thanks for thinking of me. I am thinking and wishing very hard right now for you.

  16. Thalia Says:

    Sounds like things are going really well, you are way ahead of me on the E2 so you must be doing well! I’ll know tomorrow if I get to join you on Monday or go a day later. Nice to be in the struggle with you.

  17. UtRus Says:

    hiya πŸ™‚ my first visit to you. good luck this cycle. your RE sounds nice. i’ll be back to check up on you. hugs

  18. Lindy Says:

    Fantastico, Beagle! Monday sounds fabulous!

  19. sube Says:

    Okay, very funny joke about the tonsils. Good to see you’re keeping your humor!

  20. squarepeg Says:

    It sounds like you’re on your way! Man, I thought nothing would be as inconvenient as being a scientist with a latex allergy… you managed to blow that theory our of the water!!!! I hope your non-latex wand cover days are almost at an end…

    Update on your kitty’s bloodwork soon πŸ™‚ fingers crossed for healthy results.

    E

  21. Kross-Eyed Kitty Says:

    Hey! Thanks for stoping by and commenting on my blog, that was a nice surp[rise to see someone new.
    Good luck with IVF#2. I did the fertility thing a few years ago, but found out that there was nothing they could do, other than donor egg. 😦
    Hope this one sticks for you!

  22. Kristi Says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog the other day. I have everything crossed for you that IVF #2 works for you and that your retrieval goes well on Monday. I had general anesthesia for mine as well, and didn’t feel one thing, so you have nothing to be worried about. I’m going to stop back here and see how you’re doing.

  23. Leggy Says:

    Glad all is going well and I’m glad the Zoloft is helping you get through it. Glad things seem on track for Monday.

Leave a Reply

