For a change of pace

In other news today: feline healthcare costs are through the roof. Almost as bad as my own! Yesterday I took our oldest cat (13 yrs old) Maggie to the vet. She has lost quite a bit of weight these past few months. She drinks and pees a ton so I am worried about kidney failure or diabetes. She seems totally fine otherwise, happy Well, she’s a grouch actually, but always has been), active, but I want to keep her that way.

She is a mean old critter (mellowed with age, but still rather feisty). The vet is scared of her. The vet is a wuss. He would not take blood from her or give her a physical exam without putting her under. So, $241 dollars and one general anesthetic later poor Mags had blood drawn and a urine sample taken. All this on top of the $69 we paid last week for her routine shots (when he decided he couldn’t take blood from her while awake). So why do I have to pay double office visits because the vet is a wimp?

Now she is worth it, don’t get me wrong, but I don’t think this vet is worth it. A good vet should be able to handle a 13 year old, 8 pound, female cat for goodness sake! I would change vets in a minute, but he is so close and all three of our critters are horrible in the car.

Other complaints: They did an ugly job shaving her neck, and when I picked her up there was poop in her carrier. Poor sedated kitty was half sitting in it. Is it too much to ask that they clean it up when she poops? It’s not like she had the option to go to the litter box as she was locked in a carrier! (I am guessing they were too scared to put their hands in the carrier once she was awake.)

So I am now awaiting her results, along with my own, to see where we all stand.

I had another ultrasound this morning and I am going back in again tomorrow. (At 7:45 am! I can never get those early times on a workday when I need then, but on a Saturday it is my only choice. Ugh!) My eggs are almost ready, I am getting close. I am 98% sure I will trigger tomorrow night with retrieval Monday. That would make me the first to go (at my clinic for this round). Last time I was the very last! You just never know what to expect. We’ll see what the RE says after looking at the U/S report and getting the E2 back.

Stay tuned . . .

8 Responses to “For a change of pace”

  1. Thalia Says:

    Great to see I’ll have company on Monday. Hope all is well with your numbers today.

  2. soralis Says:

    Sorry to hear about the extra costs with your kitty.

    Good luck with you cycle

  3. UtRus Says:

    sorry about kitty. hope your numbers are good today and that you do get to trigger tomorrow 🙂 i’ll be checking in. good luck!

  4. Mary Ellen and Steve Says:

    Sorry to hear that your kitty is sick, and that you have to pay through the nose to make her well again.

    I hope that you get to trigger tomorrow and that your ER goes off without a hitch. I will be checking in to see how you are doing.

    Good luck!

  5. Donna Says:

    I hear you on the vet bills. I just spent $500 myself the other day, but the critters are so worth it. Good luck tomorrow!

  6. Chas Says:

    My vet is scared of my cat too. I have to get a muzzle before I bring her back to the vet. She’s really not a mean cat, but she goes into Mr. Hyde mode at the vet’s office..it’s weird. Cats are odd…mine has been peeing on the baby’s things lately…so she might get kicked to the curb soon if she doesn’t watch it.

  7. sube Says:

    Poor kitty. That sounds like an awful lot of work for a little blood.

    Hope things go well tomorrow. I’ll be thinking of you.

  8. Sarah Says:

    Poor kitty! Good luck and hope you get to trigger tomorrow. If you don’t get back online, good luck on Monday!! We’ll be thinking of you.

Leave a Reply

