As luck would have it . . .

I feel like shit this morning. What I thought was allergies seems to be an actual cold/infection/whatever. My throat is burning and my right ear aches like a bugger. Great! I am hoping that the antibiotic I started last night for the retrieval kicks this out of my system in a hurry.

It’s not great to have anesthesia while sick, but I am not telling them anything that will prompt them to forego anesthesia! (Or, God help me, cancel altogether.) I am also super paranoid that having any kind of infection at the time of transfer is bad because it will have my body in “fighting off invaders” mode and that can’t be helpful in welcoming embryos to stay. Uhhhg!

And of course there is just the plain crappiness of feeling a whole new kind of crappy on top of the usual kind of IVF crappy.

I am taking sudafed, claritin, tylenol and drinking a bunch of tea with honey. And I am hoping, praying even, for the best.

Why can’t this ever be “easy?”

I’d cry, but that will just make me feel even more congested/uncomfortable/crappy!

20 Responses to “As luck would have it . . .”

  1. MoMo Says:

    Oh Beagle…sorry to hear that you are not feeling well. I hope this is nothing and you will feel perfect for retrieval tomorrow. Thinking of you and good luck tomorrow! Hugs!

  2. Mary Ellen and Steve Says:

    I am so sorry to hear that you aren’t feeling well. I hope that you are feeling much better tomorrow for your retrieval. Take care of yourself today. Hugs!!

  3. Sarah Says:

    Wow, talking about being kicked when you are already down! Too bad about the cold. Hopefully it won’t have any effect at all on the progress of your cycle and that you feel better tomorrow for your retrieval. Take care and keep drinking those liquids!!

  4. DD Says:

    You know what really slays me? How crazy we get in trying to make sure we take care of ourselves, inside and out, when others can be fighting all sorts of illness off due to a crappy lifestyle (smoking, drinking, etc.) and get pregnant just thinking about it. It sucks and it’s unfair.

    Get plenty of liquids and rest. I’m sure that the worst should be over by transfer.

  5. EJW Says:

    Maybe your immune system will be so distracted by this bug that it won’t notice those little foreign buggers.

    I hope you’re feeling better soon and that everything goes smoothly.

  6. Rebecca Says:

    Thank you for coming to visit me. Not to go all Pollyanna on you, but I hope this serves as a little bit of encouragement…a friend of mine had a fever that reached up to 103 degrees a few days before her frozen embryo transfer. Of course, she was worried that it would affect the transfer or the babies sticking. She now has 2-year-old triplets as a result of that FET. Hang in there, and I hope you feel better soon!

  7. Lindy Says:

    Oh man, Beagle! I’m so sorry. If it helps, I had a nasty cold/sore throat virus going on around the time of retrieval/transfer/waiting. I hope you’re feeling better soon! Rest up!

  8. Fertility Faux Pas Says:

    Hey Beagle,
    Just wanted to wish you luck tomorrow for your retrieval. Hopefully you are getting all this sickness out of the way now before your transfer in a few days. Feel better soon!

  9. Liz Says:

    Sorry you’re not feeling well. Wishing you the best tomorrow!!

  10. Just another Jenny Says:

    Does everybody get sick during stims? It’s like an epidemic.

    Noooo, don’t do anything to take away your anestetic – you knew I would say that. I

    Best of luck tomorrow. I’ll be thinking of you.

  11. Thalia Says:

    I’m sorry you’re feeling so crummy. I can’t imagine they would cancel you for a cold. I will be thinking of you tomorrow.

  12. soralis Says:

    Sorry to hear that you are feeling so crappy. I went through my ret. with a bad cold it wasn’t much fun but the dr’s reassured me that it wouldn’t affect the cycle.

    Good luck and I hope you feel better soon.

  13. Leggy Says:

    Echoing what others have said- I’m sorry you feel lousy.

    I had a cold develop around transfer- my clinic said the main thing to avoid is a fever, so keep up the sudafed and tylenol. I did get PG (miscarried, but I think it was more because of ACAs than anything else).

    Good luck!

  14. Lori Says:

    Ugh – a cold on top of everything else! I’m so sorry and I really hope you’ll be feeling a bit better by tomorrow.

  15. UtRus Says:

    gosh, hope you’re feeling better soon. that timing sucks, ugh! assVice alert: maybe check with your RE (seriously) about all those over-the-counter meds. even though you wanna help your symptoms it might be better not to be taking them? (maybe you already checked with them – in which case ignore me!!)

    hope you feel better soon.

  16. Beth Says:

    Ugh – feeling sick is the pits – but even worse when you have important stuff like retrieval going on. I hope this is minor and you have a perfect retrieval tomorrow. Thinking of you!

  17. Anonymous Says:

    Hope you feel better soon, and good luck with your retrieval tomorrow! I went in and had mine today, and enjoyed catching up on your adventures over the last months while I laid around on the sofa for the rest of the day. Here’s hoping things work out well this cycle for both of us! Thanks for blogging…

  18. sube Says:

    Hang in there, Beagle. I hope the antibiotics do their thing. I’ll be thinking of you tomorrow.

  19. Sarah Says:

    Just popped by to see how you are doing today?? I hope that your cold is feeling better and that your retrieval goes well today!!

  20. Kristi Says:

    I’m sorry you were feeling sick yesterday, but I’m hoping to stop back later today and read about how a wonderful fertilization report made you feel so much better. Hope it went swimmingly yesterday!

Leave a Reply

