FET Schedule

This is mainly for my own reference. I would be curious to know from those who have done / are doing FET, how similar is this to your own protocol? Anything I should ask RE, before this starts, at my failed IVF#2 rehash appointment?

My schedule for FET is as follows:

May 22 – start BCP
June 6 – IVF#2 follow-up appointment
June 17 – start Lupron 10 units
June 21 – last BCP
June 26 – Call with any bleeding / cd1 for baseline bloodwork U/S
June 27 – Decrease Lupron to 5 units and start estradiol valerate (IM) every Tuesday and Friday
July 3 – E2 level
July 6 – E2 level and U/S to check EL (endometrial lining)
July 10 – E2 and U/S
July 12 – Start antbiotic, start PIO (.5cc), stop Lupron
July 13 – E2 level, PIO 1cc, start (dreaded) progest supps
July 15 – Start Medrol (for ICSI embies)
July 18 – Embryo (we have 2) thaw & transfer
Continue EV, PIO and progest supps until beta or beyond (preferrably beyond)
July 20 – Progesterone level check (P3 bloodwork)
July 27 – Beta

20 Responses to “FET Schedule”

  1. amanda Says:

    Yep, looks like a pretty standard medicated FET protocol. All of mine have been very similar except for the form of estrogen supplementation (patches or pills instead of injections). Best of luck with it!

  2. Sarah Says:

    Sorry, I have no idea about a FET, but I’m glad that you posted this just in case I ever do need it. Good luck with it!!

  3. DD Says:

    Our FET was very basic:
    After our first IVF failed, I was to come in to verify that ovaries were clear on CD2;
    no meds whatsoever except estrogen pills;
    bloodwork around CD12 for homone level;
    wait for thaw.

    I think we got away with very simple cycle since the ovaries had shut down following the IVF. They don’t want you ovulating and doing a transfer at the same time so your protocol sounds like that’s what they are doing.

  4. Lindy Says:

    Whew… that’s a whole new protocol to keep track of. I’ll be here cheering you on every step of the way!

    Come on frosties!

  5. soralis Says:

    The FET is a little different than our clinic. I wish you all the best with your cycle!! Good luck!

  6. Liz Says:

    It is very similar to the one I was going to do. Wishing you the very best!

  7. Alli Says:

    All I have to say is, damn. This makes me realize what I am getting myself into by moving away from IUI and towards something else.

    Thanks for the info (as getting it from my own doctor seems to be taking far, far too long – LOL)!

  8. Sunny Jenny Says:

    Nearly idencial to mine. Except I am not on an estrogen injection or bcp. I am taking femtrace 3 times a day. Looks like we’re set for our FET on June 1. The blessing (if you can call it that) of an FET is no 2ww! Only 9 days! YIPPEEE!

  9. Chee Chee Says:

    I’ve never had one but good luck when the time comes.

  10. daysgoby Says:

    Isn’t it exciting to have a date when things! will! occur!

    (rooting for you)

  11. Maya Says:

    Very exciting. It is good to have a plan. I so hope this one works for you!!!

  12. Beth Says:

    Beagle, no knowledge on FETs (yet), but just wanted you to know I am thinking about you.

  13. Barely Sane Says:

    Looks pretty much the same as mine except I got to use oral estrace, nasal synarel & the wonderfully desireable cooter shooters (prog supps). In other words – no fricken needles!

    Glad to see you’re moving forward. Fingers crossed!

  14. Just another Jenny Says:

    I am doing an unmedicated. The crap part of that is daily blood draws to check for ovulation. The medicated cycle is longer, but my clinic said there would only be one, max two blood tests.
    It all sucks, whatever.
    All the best!

  15. MoMo Says:

    Beagle…I don’t know anything about the subject, but I just want to say good luck and I am thinking of you!

  16. Pamplemousse Says:

    My DE protocol is the same as a medicated FET like yours, apart from I did Synarel to downreg nasally, oral estradiol valerate and the prog supps. Amanda at MananaBanana who has already posted did a pretty detailed account of her last successful cycle using this regime. The whole point is to successfully control all hormonal aspects of your cycle to produce the ideal receptive environment for your embryos.

    Good luck. The hormones can be hellish but you can get through it.

  17. UtRus Says:

    you know, it’s funny. you say “dreaded” progestersone pops… that’s one experience I HAVE already been through (trying to fix luteal phase) and those poppers never really bothered me. i mean, yeah the discharge is a bit yucky, but i didn’t notice any emotional/moodiness issues on progesterone at all. (god knows i’ve been dealing with those issues without the poppers!) keep us updated. i wish you the best for this FET!! hugs

  18. sube Says:

    How nice to have your calendar. I’ll be interested to hear how the follow-up appt goes on the 6th. I wish you all the best with this cycle!

  19. Mary Ellen and Steve Says:

    I have everything crossed that this FET goes smoothly for you. Good luck!

  20. Anonymous Says:

    First, good luck with your FET.
    However, I beg a little information from you. I have just completed IVF — my beta is due tommorrow. Unfortunately I broke the cardinal rule and did a home pregnancy test today and its negative. I am expecting a negative beta tommorrow. How soon after failed IVF can you begin FET.
    Again good luck, may everything you desire in life come to fruition.

Leave a Reply

