Just the thought

Just the thought of two days of bedrest is making me want to jump out of my skin. I need a plan, a strategy. This is where you all come in. What did you do? Movie suggestions? Book suggestions? Snack suggestions? Any suggestions?? I know my blog sisters will have some brilliant ideas.

I am getting superstitious. Lucky socks are out of season, I haven’t had a good fortune cookie in AGES, I’ve mostly given up on prayer . . . so I have to have something to hold onto. I’ve somehow got the idea fixed in my mind that if I would just really do bedrest this time, maybe that will make the difference. So, I plan to be the good patient this time. No running out to the store, no hopping on and off the couch pretending to lie down all day, no sitting at the computer. I plan to be horizontal. How this can matter, I cannot fathom, but I feel I must try. As if, maybe, if I were to make this sacrifice to my freedom, the baby giving gods would find me worthy of motherhood at last.

Hell, it’s crazy, but what else is there at this stage??

So . . . suggestions???

8 Responses to “Just the thought”

  1. Thalia Says:

    I have to say, it’s really really not about the bed rest. But if you want to try, then how about:

    1. A dance to the music of time. A 12 novel series detailing british life between the wars. Very well written, engaging, a lots to read. That will keep you going

    2. Similarly, the Raj Quartet by Paul Scott. 4 marvellous books about India around the time of partition. One woman gets pregnant from a rape, one woman gets pregnant during her marriage, other than that it’s quite safe on the fertility front.

    3. Buffy. Series 1-7. And Angel. Series 1-3. What more could you want?

  2. Lindy Says:

    Oh, yes! Buffy! Or Lost if you haven’t watched it. I found switching around among TV, a good book and catching up on phone calls to be helpful.

    I agree with Thalia that it’s not about the bedrest. But if you can do it, why not give it a try?

  3. daysgoby Says:

    B –

    I’m serious about sending you candy – Mack bars zooming your way!
    E-mail me.

  4. Meg Says:

    Beagle – I was going to suggest tv series too. If you’re a crime reader, Patricia Cornwell has a heap of gripping, gory novels.

  5. Kristi Says:

    This isn’t crazy at all. I had the same thoughts as you about the bedrest: why not give the embies their best chance possible. My doctor actually recommended bedrest, and no work for 2 days, so I went with his advice.

    Here are my suggestions: Movies: Six Feet Under (all seasons, or start with Season 1). Awesome. Books: Anything by Jane Green or Marian Keyes. Fun, easy-reading Brit chic lit.

    I can’t wait to hear how it goes tomorrow, and GOOD LUCK!

  6. Ellen K. Says:

    I think TV seasons on DVD were made for situations like this! Check out Veronica Mars, season 1, if you’ve never seen it. Buffy’s attitude + Nancy Drew’s detective skills join in a sharp-tongued blonde pixie of a high schooler. Plus, Joss Whedon is a big VM fan, and Alyson Hanigan guest stars. OK, end of commercial.

    Good luck!!!

  7. Barely Sane Says:

    Get a REALLY comfy spot! I was never quite happy on the couch so I got our big blow-up air mattress to stretch out on and suddenly, I didn’t want the bedrest to end!!!

    Good luck!!

    Your dad (parents) make me laugh. Maybe, just maybe, after you told him about the IVF he did some research?? Stranger things have happened….. and yes, monkeys flew out of my butt yesterday. LOL.

  8. Just another Jenny Says:

    I forgot all about socks. I honestly through my IVF #1 pair in the fire, maybe a nice pair of grey tube socks will do this time? I am not sure how to explain wolly socks in July. Do you think holding our legs in the air would help – lol!!

Leave a Reply

