How the 2ww became a 9dw

The great thing about a blast transfer is that the 2ww is almost half over before you start because the 2ww is counted from retrieval and blasts are already 5 days old. This is especially less stressful in an FET where you have less of that pre-transfer stress like wondering how many eggs will be mature, will the man come (pun alert!) through with a nice sample, how many eggs fertilize etc. We *only* had to worry about whether the two frozen embryos we knew up front we had, would thaw, and luckily they did. (Not to minimize the crap of supression, injections, hormone moods and bloodwork, etc.) In other words, I was able to escape THIS bit.

It is odd to have my P3 already the day bed rest ends!

So, we’re awaiting those results, but like the nurse said, it’s pretty rare for it to come back low when they are giving me PIO and suppositories. Speaking of PIO. My behind is SORE! I have this very ugly bruise on one side. Not sure what went wrong there, the shot itself felt normal, but I had a little bleed under the skin, judging by the quarter sized black mark and the lump. Oh, well, all for a good cause.

Physically I feel better than I have any other cycle (no doubt due to the absence of swollen ovaries), and emotionally I feel pretty damn good as well (for the moment, knock on wood)!

Hope has been creeping in and this worries me a *bit* but so far it’s a pleasant level of hope not a frenzied one.

Another failed cycle will crush me, I know that. But, if I can manage it, I’d rather wait and be miserable only when it becomes necessary. Why not enjoy the idea of something wonderful growing inside me, even if only for 9 days?

The thing that always weirds me out about ART cycles and IVF/FET in particular is how much you know about the exactness of timing, etc. (and sadly how little this can really mean in the end). I mean, we know we have two living embryos, healthy and full of potential. We know they are five days old and have reached blast stage at last sighting. What we don’t know of course if whether they hatched and implanted. And if they have they are now “in” and if they haven’t they are already goners. It’s just so weird to contemplate it all.

The RE was pretty excited about the quality of the blasts after thaw. Apparently they shrivel up like raisins (his analogy) when they freeze and they plump back up when they thaw but most don’t quite plump all the way and look a bit irregular. Well, these two looked as round as can be. The upshot of that is that this bodes well that the embryos were strong enough to feeze and thaw this well. In theory they have a better chance of making it the rest of the way.

The embryologist later came in to wish up luck (while I was laying head tilted down on the OR bed) to say how great she thought they looked. She said she would have had a hard time picking them out from a group of fresh ones. She wished us luck that one would take. I told her I really wanted them both. She laughed and said it was funny that I mentioned that because these two embryos “behaved” oddly in the petrii dish. Usually embryos kind of repel each other and these two kept drifting together, not touching, but every time she moved them apart to observe something, they drifted back together. She smiles and said maybe this was a good omen. That would be just too amazing, if we got twins out if this deal! Two for the price of one, I like to say (Seeing that the “price” is now well over the $45K mark, they are hardly bargains! . . . even so . . .)

I don’t mean to be greedy wanting two. I know it holds more risks and all that. I know it would be more than my fair share for one go. But at 38 and nearly tapped out in more ways than one (financial, etc.) two would be really nice. I am tall and long torso’d so I figure I have a pretty good build to carry twins if any one does. I also know (but choose to ignore) that two babies have to be pretty exhausting!

OK, back to reality.

We are hoping for the best, bracing for the worst. Let the chips fall where they bay, but please oh please let luck be a baby this time!!

(I hope the comma police aren’t crying after reading this poorly punctuated post!)

10 Responses to “How the 2ww became a 9dw”

  1. MoMo Says:

    Oh Beagle….I am so hoping for you. I hope in 9 days we are all going to be celebrating along with you. Sending you a big hug!!

  2. Lindy Says:

    A pleasant amount of hope sounds perfect. How zen of you, Beagle! I’m proud.

  3. daysgoby Says:

    Not greedy at all.

    Get some rest, sweetheart!

  4. Just another Jenny Says:

    It sounds like everything is going PERFECTLY so far! I am v-jealous of your 9day wait. Your not the slightest bit greedy. Now that lady that had the quadruplets, that might be a tad greedy.

  5. Hopeful Mother Says:

    Very interesting with those embryos floating apart and back together again…

    I’m hoping right along with you – twins would be so absolutely lovely!

  6. Kristi Says:

    I loved this post, because I can relate to it 100%. Seize on to that hope you feel, and don’t let go of it, no matter what, until you have a reason to.

    And it’s not greedy to want them both to stick. I wanted the same thing, and I often wonder what happened to the one that “didn’t make it.” I would have loved twins, because it would mean our family was complete, and the slow and steady IVF drain from our savings account would be over. So no selfishness there at all!

    Next Thursday is only a week away!

  7. serenity Says:

    I am so so SO hoping for you. And no, you are not greedy.

  8. GLouise Says:

    Wow- that is GREAT!!!

  9. Thalia Says:

    Because there isn’t a new post I’m going backwarsd. For some reason I missed this news about just how perfect your embryos were. And of course you aren’t greedy. Let’s face it, if we’d all got pregnant when we started trying there would be veritable tribes of our babies crawling the world. The least the universe can give you is two now.

  10. Courtney Says:

    Try to focus on resting and treating yourself right. I hope it works!!!

Leave a Reply

