Cycle Update

Well, I don’t have a whole lot to report. It’s cd 8 and there’s no “measurable” follie growth yet. E2 hovers near 250 which is OK, but the “bad” news is that it actually came down one point from 2 days ago. That is a bit discouraging. They are bumping up my Fo*llistim dose tonight. I’m guessing that our IUI will be Tuesday or Wednesday next week, but as we all know, all is fair in love and war (or infertility). My lining is cooperating this time so that is one good thing.

I wanted to share a bit of info on the chymotrypsin “wash”. It’s not much use for the usual female factor IUI scenario. The chymotrypsin eats away protein. So the idea is that it destroys the pesky anti-sperm antibodies that are the problem in our primarily male factor infertility. (What worries me is this: Hello, sperm are protein too, so how does the chymotrypsin know when to stop??) Apparently the lab folks have that all figured out. C. actually has “OK” sperm (morphology is an issue to but his overall count is very good), so if we get rid of the antibodies, they will have half a chance of hitting their mark. It’s worth a try anyway. Here is an article for anyone that is interested in reading more.

Meanwhile we are seeking out cryobank and domestic adoption info. They are both very oddly a lot like Internet dating: Profiles, photos, sales pitches . . . very surreally odd.

14 Responses to “Cycle Update”

  1. soralis Says:

    Good luck… I hope the wash does the trick for you!

    Take care

  2. sube Says:

    Hope the extra dose helps those follies do their thing. Wishing you the best.

  3. StellaNova Says:

    So how do you fill in your form to attract their interest??
    Favourite colour: blue.
    Hobbies: water-sports and raising money for underpriveliged children.
    Ambition: to become a mother one day.
    Pick me, pick me …

    Good to hear that your chances will be improved for this cycle.

  4. Kristi Says:

    Increasing your meds should do the trick, and one point down is nothing. I’m so glad you’re getting back into trying again, and that you’re looking at other options too. Fingers crossed, though, that the IUI does the trick!

  5. GLouise Says:

    The wash sounds interesting. I may ask my RE if it is a good fit for me.

  6. Ellen K. Says:

    Thanks for the link, Beagle. I’ve bookmarked it and plan to ask my RE before our final IUI. In the meantime, I hope your follies get in gear for next week.

  7. MoMo Says:

    Grow follies..grow! Good luck–I’ve been thinking about you.

  8. Sarah Says:

    Good luck with the wash! Hopefully the kick in the pants will get those follies going!

  9. Hopeful Mother Says:

    I hope the wash is all you need!

    And great that you are pursuing cryobank and adoption info… will be interested to hear more about that sometime.

    Best Wishes!!

  10. serenity Says:

    Interesting link – thanks.

    I have been thinking about you, beagle. I hope the extra dose of follitism kick starts your cycle – and I am hoping very hard that you get a miracle in a few weeks.

    My love to you.

  11. Mary Ellen and Steve Says:

    I hope that increasing the meds and the wash does the trick this time. I wish you all the best with this cycle Beagle.

  12. Beth Says:

    Thanks for the link Beagle – I had never heard of the wash. Wishing you the best this cycle, dear Beagle.

  13. Angie Says:

    I hope the extra meds does the trick! Good luck and keep us posted!

  14. flygirl Says:

    Hope everything goes perfectly for you.

    Grow follies grow!

Leave a Reply

