Woke up screaming in the night

AKA How to scare the crap out of your spouse

Last night I had the most wicked calf cramp. I literally woke up crying out in pain. I scared poor C. out of a sound sleep. I have never experienced such a thing and if I never do again it will be too soon. Yikes!

In other news there is no news. The 2ww is just kind of meandering along. Slow as can be. I have been mentally keeping track of all things internal. Like “Today is 5dpiui. S/he/they must be blastocysts by now, implantation *should* happen in the next 24 hours or so . . . ” You get the idea. Wishful thinking? Yes. But, it beats all thought of doom and gloom. Those are sure to take over soon enough.

To keep busy I have been doing all things “crafty.” I crocheted a puppet like bath mitt for a baby gift. Then I made three more because they are so fun to do. I have also started a new pottery project. I have had the hardest time feeling inspired on the pottery front. I have a show in November so I am starting to get a bit worried about it. This inertia must not continue.

I hope you’re all doing well . . . now I’m off to read a few blogs and get caught up.

16 Responses to “Woke up screaming in the night”

  1. Barely Sane Says:

    Ouch ouch ouch!!! I’ve had those cramps – I can totally sympathise with you. And I have a feeling my DH can sympathise with C!!!

    I hope the rest of your 2WW goes quickly. I dont think you are the only one who does the whole “what stage are they at now” thing either.

    Fingers crossed!!

  2. Alli Says:

    I have not ever had a calf cramp like that – and reading about it made my leg hurt!

    Hopefully the 2ww will fly by ending in an artistically inspiring pregnancy for you!

  3. pixi Says:

    I had a calf cramp recently, and it was really scary. My husband had to help me flex my foot–I couldn’t move it on my own.

    I know the wait is terrible. Seems you’re making good use of the time, though. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you.

  4. mm Says:

    Sounds like you had a Charlie Horse. They are awful!! Have been getting them a lot lately– supposedly caused by dehyration and or low potassium. So you may want to drink more h20 and eat a few bananas. The fastest way to get rid of a CH is to get out of bed and stomp that foot of that leg on the floor– it will shake out the cramp. Since I started doing this the pain lasts for a few seconds instead of a few minutes.

  5. Heather Says:

    Leg cramps are the worst! Does your leg/foot hurt still today? That has happened to me before.

    Good luck with the 2ww, we all have done the stages countdown.

    Please post pics of the pottery when you complete it, I’d love to see the pieces.

  6. GZ Says:

    Maybe you had a dream that caused adrenaline to be relased, and then the adrenaline caused a cramp. That happens to me sometimes.

    We are in the 2 ww together. With Alli and Jess. Hopefully, their will be some great news in blog land very soon. August has been good to us so far, right? Good, luck, and I’ll be thinkig of you!

  7. annmarie Says:

    The leg cramp sucks…but the puppet bath mitt is awesome. I think you need to make all of us one. And where are you showing your pottery??

  8. soralis Says:

    Yikes… sounds nasty!

    Good luck with the 2ww! Crafts are good they have gotten me through a few 2ww’s!

  9. Rebecca Says:

    Youch! Leg/foot cramp pain can be awful. I hope it was just a one-time thing for you.

    Good for you for keeping busy. Hopefully inspiration will strike for your pottery soon.

    When is your first beta?

  10. Kath Says:

    Dear Beagle, yikes! I hate cramps, and being woken up by one is a nightmare. MM has a good point about potassium — but the culprit can also be a magnesium shortage. It wouldn’t hurt to get some of that. (Magnesium is available here in soluble form, so you add a fizzy tablet to water — I don’t know how it’s sold in the US.) Your body will hopefully be requiring lots more minerals soon… Fingers tightly crossed!

  11. MoMo Says:

    Calf spasms!!! I have those too and I feel your pain! I hope it goes away soon. My fingers and toes are crossed for you!

  12. Thalia Says:

    I keep getting cramps in my feet recently, particularly when I stretch them during pilates. Most irritating. But doesn’t sound like it’s nearly as horrid as your middle of the night cramp. Scary.

    I’m always in awe of your creativity – I’ll look forward to photos of your creations when you get the chance.

  13. GLouise Says:

    Ooh- would love the link to the crafty project. Sounds neat. I hope the leg cramp stays far away! Yikes!

  14. Mary Ellen and Steve Says:

    Ouch! Those cramps sound awful. I hope that the rest of your 2ww goes quickly and smoothly. I have everything crossed that you have some good news for us very soon.

  15. JEN Says:

    Beagle, I used to get those calf cramps when i was pg….:) It also good be low potassium, try eating more banana’s. I’m glad you are able to some crafting, it sounds like it will help keep your mind occupied.

  16. JEN Says:

    ok I looked this up and it does happen in pregnancy, but usually a little later, but hey, what the heck, maybe it’s a good sign, here’s some other tips…

    Many pregnant women wake up to painful leg cramps in the middle of the night. Some experts think cramps are caused by the weight increase brought on by pregnancy, while others believe they are due to an excess of phosphorus or a shortage of calcium or potassium. Here are some tips to help you avoid them altogether.

    Steps:
    1. Stretch your legs a few times a day, especially before bedtime.

    2. Rotate your ankles and wiggle your toes to increase circulation.

    3. Resist pointing your toes as you crawl into bed.

    4. Avoid crossing your legs or standing for long periods of time.

    5. Eat potassium-rich foods such as bananas.

    6. Eat calcium-rich foods such as dairy products, fish with bones (salmon or sardines), green leafy vegetables, almonds and tofu.

    7. Reduce your intake of phosphorus-rich foods such as soft drinks, processed meats and snack foods.

Leave a Reply

