Many Thanks

I want to thank you all for your kind words.

There’s not much that can lessen the blow of another failed cycle, except maybe kindness and support from those who understand.

Our weekend was rough. Not all bad, but rough. C. and I had prepared for it. We figured if it was bad news we would be in no shape to socialize and if it was good news it would also be nice to relish that together.

So, we kind of hung out and made the best of having a few days to ourselves. We slept in, we ate out, we cuddled, we talked, I cried, but not too much. We saw two movies. One pretty lame (M@nster H@use)* and one that I would recommend (L@ke H@use). The latter was a nice date night romance movie. It even had a happy ending. Those are in short supply in my real life, so it was nice to see a movie with one. *Our movie choices are heavily influenced by what’s playing at our local “cheap” theatre.

This weekend I finally got back to pottery making. I am just “warming up” with utilitarian wares like mugs and bowls. I will work my way up to more artsy stuff like lamps and vases. I have a studio tour in November and I finally decided it was now or never. So part of the weekend, C. powerwashed (men do love their hoses) and I made pots. C. loves his power washer like I love squishing around in wet clay. It’s very sweet really and we have the cleanest decks and walkways around.

Today (Lucky me, I have an extra day off), I woke up in a mindset of doom and gloom. (AF is not here yet, so I am having prolonged PMS agony.) I was not sure I even wanted to get out of bed. But, in the end I did. I got up, did chores, baked zucchini bread, went to the gym, saw my IF therapist and then skipped lunch and treated myself to ice cream (C@ld St@ne Cre@mery). For dinner I have a very nutritious soup planned in an attempt to atone my lunchtime sins.

So, that’s me caught up for now. I am waiting to see what my cd 3 ultrasound shows, but I suspect I will have to sit out a cycle due to cysts. At least that has been the case in the past. But for now, AF is AWOL, so it’s wait and see for now.

12 Responses to “Many Thanks”

  1. Leggy Says:

    I wish it didn’t have to be this hard. Would be interested to hear more about the fall pottery show and see pictures of your new creations. I’m glad you have such a therapeutic outlet.

  2. Lut C. Says:

    Sounds like a sweet and sour weekend.
    Wish those weren’t necessary.

    I vote for pictures too!

  3. GLouise Says:

    Glad to hear your update. I am sorry to hear the bad news. Keeping you in my thoughts.

  4. Starfish Says:

    I’m glad to hear you’re coping. The creative process is definitely a big help (apart from Cold Stone of course) so it’s really cool that you are doing pottery. You’ll have to show us some of your work. It’s no coincidence I learned to knit very well in the past few years!

  5. Liz Says:

    I know how hard all of this is and I’m glad you’re taking the time to process all your feelings. The pottery sounds like a great idea. Look forward to hearing more about it. Take care!

  6. Bea Says:

    Sorry you had a rough weekend. Glad to hear you got some things done that you enjoyed despite it all. Happy these comments can help.

    Bea

  7. ellie Says:

    Good for you for taking time out to just take care of ourselves and acknowledge that it was a rough weekend. The pottery works sounds like it soothes you. Cool to have work that you love. My parents have always said- do what you love and the money will come– I often wonder why more people just don’t do that.

  8. Angie Says:

    I just read. I am so sorry!

  9. Shazz Says:

    Sounds like the weekends we have for our failsed cycles too. Sending heaps of hugs.

  10. Mary Ellen and Steve Says:

    I am glad that your and your dh took some time for yourselves this weekend. You deserve it after all you have been through. I have always wanted to learn to work with pottery, but I don’t think that I am artistic enough. I too would love to see pictures of your work. I am thinking about you and sending a hug your way.

  11. TeamWinks Says:

    Wow, you can actually make lamps! Wow! I wish I could.

  12. Thalia Says:

    Oh how I wish we didn’t have to think of strategies for weekends like this. I’m glad you and C are doing so well at supporting each other.

Leave a Reply

