Just goes to show

It never hurts to ask.

After reviewing bloodwork and history, the RE said it would be fine to stim one more day and do the IUI on Monday. She guesses this will give me four mature eggs at trigger instead of two if we trigger today. I like four vs two.

She was very kind about it. She said she was erring on the side of caution* but understands that I am past the point of caution and that she is very comfortable with delaying if I am. I asked if there were any down sides to waiting and she said she would not agree to do it if she wasn’t comfortable with it.

So that’s the scoop and I am glad I asked. I do have a tiny voice wondering if this second guessing will just lead to another problem, should I have left well enough alone, etc., but overall I am less crazed with this outcome than I would have been with triggering tonight.

*Caution defined: for anyone not blessed with a Google Ph.D. in infertility medicine, caution in this case means that they don’t like to have too many eggs released for IUI due to the risk of multiples, which with our history is highly unlikely. They also worry about an LH surge and ovulation occurring before the planned trigger shot and timed IUI. This is also a barely existent risk in my case since the bloodwork does not show an LH surge yet and I am on Ganireli*x which should prevent this.

12 Responses to “Just goes to show”

  1. Debbi Says:

    If i had a dollar for every time i got the “you’re at risk for high order multiples” talk before an IUI, i’d be rich with a few dozen babies.

    no money, no babies 😥 — they have to pretend to be cautious. doesn’t mean they should be.

    good luck to you. hope it’s your last cycle before baby!

  2. JEN Says:

    I’m glad you were able to talk to your dr. It only goes to show that your intuition is right, trust that.

  3. PortLairge Says:

    You know your body better than anyone. I’m glad your doctor listens. Thanks for coming over to visit at my blog. I know it must be hard and I appreciate it.I have my fingers crossed for you on Monday. Good luck.

  4. Barely Sane Says:

    That is great! Glad you asked. Back in the beginning – when I was still an IF newbie – the thought of 4 follies would have freaked me out. Now, not so much!

    Fingers crossed that at least 1 spermie finds it’s way!

  5. soralis Says:

    So glad that you are able to trigger when it works for you!

    Take care and good luck!!!

  6. Shop Girl Says:

    Good for you for taking charge of your treatment and coming up with such a great idea! Through this all, I haven’t felt like I received the most personalized attention, ahd have asked lots of questions along the way. Will be thinking good thoughts for you!

  7. Thalia Says:

    Fantastic that you decided to push back, I didn’t see your previous post in time but I think you made EXACTLY the right decision. As you know, our first IUI was cancelled due to overresponse because we had 5 follicles over 15mm, although only 2 or 3 above 17. We tried on our own anyway, and of course it was a pointless failure. I think for women like us who’ve been through the mill, those restrictions are nonsense. But I do understand that responsible docs need to stick to them.

    Good luck sweetie.

  8. Bea Says:

    Infertility is a gamble, and you play the game you’re most comfortable with – the one that will leave you with the fewest “what ifs”.

    That hand where you don’t have any “what ifs”? Well, if you get one of those, play it, then shout about it until someone tells you to stop crowing because you’re making us all envious. You can always find a “what if”.

    Good luck, now.

    Bea

  9. Millie Says:

    So very glad you asked and that she agreed. Wishing you just enough luck this time around. Lots of luck but you know what I mean.

  10. Leggy Says:

    I’m glad you asked them- Good luck with the IUI.

  11. sube Says:

    Good for you. And good luck on Monday. Hope it goes smoothly.

  12. serenity Says:

    Really glad that you were able to resolve it with her. I am thinking of you today, Beagle. Good luck with your IUI.

    *hug*

Leave a Reply

