Tell me the truth

My P3 (progesterone) level is 19.6. They say anything over 16 is fine. But this is lower than I’ve ever had while taking progesterone supplement. I am taking the PIO (by choice, I hate the suppositories that much). Should I add the suppositories too??

19.6 is not “good,” is it?? (I am 7dpiui.)

I feel doomed. When one end of the cycle goes well, the other end falls apart. I am feeling quite sure that I will never be pregnant.

The depression is winning again. I am losing.

I hate this.

14 Responses to “Tell me the truth”

  1. Thalia Says:

    Sorry sweetie, i can’t comment on the numbers. All i know is that I bled early on the suppositories, and not on the PIO. If the clinic isn’t worried, I’d be tempted to just leave it, but you need to do what you feel comfortable with.

  2. Leggy Says:

    I don’t know what tell you. My first clinic would freak if the progesterone was anything lower than 20. They did PIO and suppositories. This clinic considers anything over 15 good and when my progesterone came in at 14.7, they thought it was fine. (Of course, you know what happened there, but who knows if it was progesterone levels or not). I saw a third RE last week and when I brought up the 14.7, he didn’t think there was any negligence because blood levels of progesterone are generally lower with suppositories. So I’m sorry I don’t have much to make you feel better, just giving you my own progesterone woes. What did the clinic say? I would think 19.6 is close enough, but who the hell knows anything anymore.

  3. DD Says:

    Did a Speedgoogle for you. Here’s the poop from Fertility Plus:

    A progesterone test is done to confirm ovulation. When a follicle releases its egg, it becomes what is called a corpus luteum and produces progesterone. A level over 5 probably indicates some form of ovulation, but most doctors want to see a level over 10 on a natural cycle, and a level over 15 on a medicated cycle. There is no mid-luteal level that predicts pregnancy. Some say the test may be more accurate if done first thing in the morning after fasting.

    Anything greater than 15 is considered normal at 7dpo.

    I know. That doesn’t really help anything, does it.

  4. the waiting line Says:

    I can’t comment on the numbers either – I haven’t had progesterone measured in a looongggg time.

    I’m rooting for you.

  5. sube Says:

    I’m afraid I don’t have any idea. But try not to despair. If your clinic is okay with it, that must be a good sign, right?

    Hang in there, sweetie.

  6. Kellie Says:

    I think 19.6 is a good number. Some would double supplement, but I think it depends on the clinic. Whenever there is a lot of variability regarding a number, then you know there is no one right answer.

    Good luck.

  7. soralis Says:

    I am so sorry that you are feeling depressed… infertility sucks!

    Wishing you the best

  8. Meg Says:

    Beagle – I’m sorry, I have no idea what is “normal or what… I do know that different clinics measure things differently.

    For instance (I hope it’s ok if I write this?) the other main clinic in Melbourne would have considered my first beta a chem.

    So who knows. The other comments are reassing, I guess?

    Love to you. You have had things so hard these past few months.

  9. MoMo Says:

    I’m sorry, I can’t comment on the numbers either. I know it is hard and it is human nature to always want to have answers–hang in there. Hugs!

  10. theoneliner Says:

    I would say 19 is fine. Of course I’m not an expert.
    I’m sure its fine and I hope its a sign of good things to come.

  11. serenity Says:

    I wish I could comment on the levels – never had mine measured. But if if makes you feel better? and you have the suppositories? It can’t hurt.

    But that’s just me and I’m no expert.

    *HUG* I am sorry you are feeling so down. I wish I could help…

  12. seattlegal Says:

    I can’t comment on the numbers either. Hoping and praying for you that everything is fine.

  13. spark Says:

    For lower-dose cycles like IUIs I don’t think P4 ever really gets cranked up as high as an IVF cycle…at least that has been my experience.

    Sorry that you’re feeling down. ((((((HUGS)))))))

  14. Chas Says:

    I honestly can’t remember what numbers were good; I guess I’ve pushed it all out of my mind. I can say that the suppositories did not work for me; my levels went WAY down. I was pregnant with twins while I was on the injections, and lost one of the babies very quickly after they changed me to suppositories. They also said that if I hadn’t gone back on the injections when I did I definitely would have lost my little Lila. I can’t even imagine. So when we do it again I won’t be coming off the shots until I’m at my 2nd trimester.

Leave a Reply

