30 down, 90 to go

What was I thinking??

Several months ago I had a real burst of gardening energy and I decided we need some spring color to look forward to. We live in the woods and it’s just too shady to grow most summer flowers. So, I ordered 120 spring bulbs: Mixed Crocus, Hoop Petticoat Daffodils, Muscari (AKA Grape Hyacinth), and Mixed Anemone. The UPS man delivered them all Tuesday. What I didn’t consider at any length was the 120 holes I’d have to dig in my very rocky terrain!

Well, I’d better get busy. I have the day off today to burn up some left over vacation time.

I hope it’s sunny in your part of the world. We have a gorgeous autumn day here.

8 Responses to “30 down, 90 to go”

  1. Just another Jenny Says:

    I bought about 80 bulbs and found it overwhelming too. I did find a cheapo bulb planter that helps with the hole digging (although with rocky terain it might not). Sounds like you have quite the project on your hands.

  2. DD Says:

    This will be me next year. Since we don’t have a yard yet, I’ve been hesitant to put in any bulbs that I may have to dig up next year.

    I hope you have invested in a “Bulb Planter, Heavy Duty” which should make it a little easier than being on your hands and knees with a trowel. And yes, beautiful, sunny fall day here again.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Oh, it will be so worth it when you see the results! Hope the digging goes well!

    Our weather is sunny and crisp – I love fall days!

  4. Lut C. Says:

    That’s why I don’t want a garden!
    I’d like a public park though, or a green roof. 🙂

  5. Lisa Says:

    I’d love to see a photo in the springtime!

  6. Bea Says:

    Yes, the best laid plans… there’s an ART metaphor here about lining up stuff and feeling all “yeah, hey, a cycle!” and then realising halfway through that cycling sucks, and then… if you’re really lucky… maybe deciding it was all worthwhile after all?

    The bulbs should give you pretty good odds on that last bit, anyway.

    Bea

  7. Mary Ellen and Steve Says:

    I hope that you had fun gardening! I hope that you will post a picture of the results this spring.

  8. Heather Says:

    Have fun and zone out while you dig. Gardening is great at getting my mind off of things. Of couse that is a lot of bulbs…

    Good luck and happy digging.

Leave a Reply

