Some kind of success

After all the fertility failures, it’s nice to have some kind of success. My show was a success. Sales where good and I got a lot of nice feedback about my work. I also got a nice mention with a photo in our local newspaper. That was a real morale boost.

I just wish my success in the creative realm weren’t limited to clay.

I want to create a life. That just sound so lofty, I know, but it is such a basic human need. One that most people take for granted and most attain easily.

I admit I used to have very specific wants in this department. I wanted my first baby by a certain age and the second 2-3 years later. My ideal would have been two boys, but I would have been happy with any combination of genders. I am not feeling at all fussy about those details now. I don’t even need more than one child any more. I survived being an only myself, and while that was never my preference for my own family, it’s not so bad really. I want so badly to create a family, even a family of three, and still that seems to be such an elusive goal.

Am I asking for too much?

I have much to be grateful for: a loving husband, a strong marriage, a comfortable home, four sweet and funny feline companions, numerous good friends, a few rewarding hobbies, two healthy, living parents, a steady income . . .

So is it too greedy to want a family too? Is one sweet little baby just too much to ask for?

God, I sure hope not!

9 Responses to “Some kind of success”

  1. GLouise Says:

    Glad the show went well….I can definitely relate to this post. I used to think I wanted four kids, boy, girl, boy, girl; three years apart between each kid. Hmm! Doesn’t look like that will happen!

  2. Starfish Says:

    who the heck knows why we can’t always get what we think is a “simple” request! I do hope you get what you want, you just might have to be open to other paths if your body won’t cooperate!

  3. Thalia Says:

    Of course it’s not. You are entitled to it all, it’s just proving to be a long and provoking journey.

    So glad the show went well.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    I’m glad the show went well and that you get it all – you deserve it. We all do.

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Well, it’s a lot, of course, but I don’t think it’s “too much”, no.

    Bea

  6. Anonymous Says:

    You are NOT asking for too much. Not greedy in the slightest.

    *hug*

    I am glad that your show went well. You really are one talented lady, beagle.

  7. aah0424 Says:

    No, that is not asking for too much. Why shouldn’t you have everything you deserve?

    Good to hear the show went well, your pieces are beautiful!

  8. Anonymous Says:

    Glad to year your show went well.

    I don’t think it’s too much to ask. Why can’t we all be granted that simple wish?

  9. Ellen K. Says:

    No, it’s not too much at all.

    Congratulations on a successful show!

Leave a Reply

