One down, one to go

One holiday down. Check. Survived. Was even pretty nice overall. My original plan was to boycott all holidays this year but instead we opted for low key and went with the “choose the easiest relatives to deal with and see them separately” approach.

One to go. We don’t have a Christmas avoidance strategy yet.

Thursday we crossed two state lines to visit C.’s sister, hubby and tot and babe. Tot is at a fun age (3.5yrs) and babe is all smiles and giggles (9months). It was a long day because we drove down and back the same day. (Maggie the cat is declining, more on that later.) I got my baby cuddling fix and I got my play-doh sniffing fix. I also got to play “trains” and “smash the tower of blocks”. Very fun stuff.

Friday we slept in, went for a long walk, puttered around the house.

Saturday we had my parents over. No stress there (not this time anyway). Though I get all nervy about it when they come.

Sunday we slept in, went for a long walk, puttered and saw a movie (Man of the Year).

So all in all that was a nice lazy weekend.

Our original plan included an overnight (or two or three) getaway. But then Maggie was really faltering and C. found out he was on call at the last minute (damn his new manager!) (Luckily he did not have to actually work at all this weekend.)

Maggie’s renal disease is progressing. She stopped eating. We got her appetite stimulant pills and started giving her progressively more “tempting” foods. She’s eating again but barely enough. Her days are numbered at this point but whenever we think all hope is lost she perks up and has a really good day. So we’re taking it one day at a time until she lets us know she’d rather move on to her tenth life.

Nothing new on the cycle/adoption front except my dream life. For several days leading up to the IUI I dreamt of getting chosen by a birth mother. It was all full of mixed emotions for her loss and our gift but overall the dreams left me feeling at peace with this path. Then to throw a total twist into it, on Saturday night I dreamt I was pregnant. Not so crazy really except that in over three years of trying and almost three years of active treatment I have NEVER had a pregnancy/baby dream. Never.

So now Hope has reared her ugly head and I am off in la-la land with an imagination gone wild.

Realistically I think the dream interpretation goes something more like this: I am at peace with knowing I will be a Mom, one way or another. And that feels good for a change after three years of angst.

9 Responses to “One down, one to go”

  1. Kristi Says:

    This is so wonderful to hear. You WILL be a mom, and a fantastic one at that, and I can’t wait to experience your joy along with you. And I’m glad your holiday wasn’t too stressful.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    I think that is a good way to interpret your dream. You will be an awesome mom.

  3. Thalia Says:

    being at peace with being a mum sounds perfect to me. Glad the holiday was bearable.

  4. Barely Sane Says:

    Glad the holiday was easier than anticipated. I think we can all relate to where you are coming from on this one.
    Sorry about the kitty. It’s so hard to see them suffer but at the same time, so hard to let them go.
    Glad to hear you are at peace with whatever path is necessary to become a mom. I found it very freeing when I finally reached that point.

    Fingers still crossed for the IUI.

  5. Starfish Says:

    I like your interpretation too. It will happen eventually, one way or another..or as I like to say it ‘come hell or high water’. 🙂

  6. My Reality Says:

    I think your dream interpretation is probably pretty correct. I am sorry to hear Maggie isn’t well. We just recently lost our dog due to liver and kidney failure, so I can relate to what you are going through. I hope she does ok for the next little while.

  7. Anonymous Says:

    I am glad that you made it through the holiday okay. You are going to be an amazing mother someday Beagle. Hopefully sooner than later.

  8. Lut C. Says:

    Poor Maggie, I hope she’s not suffering too much.

    I like the peace and love interpretation of the dreams.

  9. GLouise Says:

    Glad you got through Thanksgiving.
    And I am so sorry to hear about your little Maggie. 😦
    Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

