Some TV Channels should come with a warning label

(Actually some probably DO) but never mind . . . my point is this: DO NOT watch the Lifetime channel. The movies suck!

I got sucked in last night. I was channel surfing like a man when I heard a flit of dialogue that included “adoption.” My interest peaked, I flipped back to see what it was about. Well, it was horrid. But, I watched anyway. The way you have to stare at a really bad car wreck. The gist of the story is that the couple was infertile and their first attempt at adoption resulted in losing the baby due to some loophole in the law and then the husband finds a new “too good to be true” birthmother who among other horrors turns out to be his ex college girlfriend and who extorts money from the couple . . . , etc., etc., . . . who writes this shit???!!!

Anyway, there is really no point here except this: don’t torture yourself with fiction that scares you about things that are scary enough in real life.

Dumb, dumb, dumb beagle. That is why the TV has an off switch.

Post Script: I did in fact turn it off before it ended so I can’t even tell you how the horror plot came out in the end. But don’t be proud of me, I’m not. I turned it off because C. came home before it was over and he would have given me a stern look for watching a show that was both drivel AND upsetting. Kind of like how he can’t get why my book club only reads depressing stuff.

8 Responses to “Some TV Channels should come with a warning label”

  1. DD Says:

    I really cannot add to this. It’s just so sad that realism doesn’t sell.

    BTW, have you noticed how nothing is updating in bloglines? I swear, between blogger/google and bloglines, I want to tear my hair out.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Beagle,

    We are using Adoption House in Wilmington, DE. I’ll gladly share our experience and what the agency offers. We joke and call Lifetime the channel for women who hate men. BTW, are you in the Philly burbs too?

    tracyruth@yahoo.com

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Yeah. Lifetime sucks. I always feel depressed after watching it for even a split second while flippping.

  4. annmarie Says:

    The only show on Lifetime worth watching is that one with the medium from the UK with wacky hair. That’s pretty much it for me. I am, however, guilty of watching all the crap on Bravo/

  5. Thalia Says:

    Ha. My husband shouts at me when he finds me watching stuff like that. Very tiring.

  6. Anonymous Says:

    I’m sorry to laugh, but isn’t it amazing how hard it is to tear yourself from some horrible AND upsetting (AND poorly written too) movie yourself?

    I do the same thing often. J yells at me too. 🙂

  7. Leggy Says:

    Chris (barefoot and) wrote this great post once re: a lifetime show about IVF that was SOOO bad. I saw it too and I’ve never seen such crap on TV- it had Tori Spelling in it. First, the stupid “implant” word. Second, she gets her PG test results same day as transfer. Third, crazy psycho best friend who’s in love with Tori’s husband pretends to be Tori and has the remaining embryos “implanted” in her uterus and gets PG with Tori & her husband’s baby. Argh!!! Who writes this crap?

  8. Anonymous Says:

    I love what Tracy said about lifetime being the channel for women that hate men. so true.

    somebody else had a post recently about the stupid IF related stuff on TV. I just find it all insulting. So called ‘reality’ tv is so big now, but why to they have to manufacture such fake stuff? I just don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

