It turns out you CAN be a little bit pregnant

I got up this moring and POAS. There was one lonely line like there always is. I dutifuly went to my RE to have blood drawn for a beta. I didn’t even answer the phone when they called. I already “knew” it was negative. The RE left an odd message saying she had my “results” and that I should call her back and even if it was after hours I should have her paged.

So, I call and have her paged. My beta was not zero this time. My HCG = 4 (at 14dpiui)

Four. Why, oh why?

I’ve been instructed to continue my PIO over the weekend and retest the HCG levels on Monday.
I’ve also been advised by my RE that this does NOT look promising but that she has seen a beta this low turn into a baby before (just not very often.)

Why can’t I fall into the “within normal range” of anything???

Calling all internets, and google PHD’s: what the hell do you make of this?? Has anyone ever ended up with a baby with a starting beta of 4???

****
My own googling has found very little that supports the concept of hope for a beta of 4 . . . except for this sweet little chart.

Hormone Levels
from The Couples Guide to Fertility
by Gary Berger, Marc Goldstein, Mark Fuerst

Weeks from the LMP . . . . . Amount of hCG in mIU/ml

week 3 . . . . . . 5 – 50
week 4 . . . . . . 4 – 426 (that’s a freaking huge range)
week 5 . . . . . . 19 – 7,340
week 6 . . . . . . 1,080 – 56,500
week 7 – 8 . . . . 7,650 – 229,000
week 9 – 12. . . . 25,700 – 288,000
week 13 – 16 . . . 13,300 – 254,000
week 17 – 24 . . . 4,060 – 165,400
week 25 – 40 . . . . 3,640 – 117,000

After three years of no positve pregnancy test in sight I get this. Just when I am happy to move along to adoption, become a mother and leave all this agony behind . . . . this curve ball makes me wonder, yet again . . . WTF??

Here is another interesting chart/info.

I am placing bets on ectopic. Please God, let me be wrong!

20 Responses to “It turns out you CAN be a little bit pregnant”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I am sorry Beagle you are in tough situation.
    I had a level of 5 which unfortunatley didn’t go anywhere.

    But you never know, there is hope.
    Fingercrossed.

  2. Lut C. Says:

    That’s just cruel. Very, very cruel.

    Do you have to quit treatment before you start the adoption process? Or do you want to focus on just one?

  3. Thalia Says:

    Well, check out betabase (http://www.betabase.info). At 14dpiui the lowest beta (and they only record betas that end in heartbeat) was 3. So no, this is not hopeful, but it’s not over yet either.

    Goodness it does seem extraordinary that you have to go through this.

  4. My Reality Says:

    Oh, the torture of the whole situation. I hope the weekend passes quickly.

  5. LB Says:

    Beagle-
    I am not sure what this might mean. Betabase’s numbers are only ones that ended up having a heartbeat, so it IS possible. Every successful pregnancy was a “4” at some point. As my RE said, every pregnancy has to start somewhere. Not trying to give you false hope. Thinking of you!

  6. Josie Says:

    Ah, geez. I don’t know what to say. I am no expert and can’t even pretend to be one in this situation.

    Shit, I am sorry you have to deal with this.

  7. Leggy Says:

    First and foremost, I hope its a slowgrower. But if that’s not the case I hope its a chemical and not an ectopic- ugh, what a nightmare. Thinking of you.

  8. Anonymous Says:

    Fingers crossed – I’m sorrry for the waiting… yet again.

  9. Barely Sane Says:

    Oh dear… can’t anything be easy?

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed that this is it.

    Hugs

  10. Kristi Says:

    You have been through so much. And now this. Hang in there.

  11. Kath Says:

    Oh, Beagle. How I wish this were unreservedly good news for once. So hoping that this turns out for you.

  12. Anonymous Says:

    It sucks when everything is grey – neither black or white.

    From what I’m reading here (comments and the chart you posted) it looks like there is still a chance – and I’m hanging on to that!!

  13. GLouise Says:

    Oh nooooooooooo. How awful…..Thinking of you, and hoping for the best…

  14. Hopeful Mother Says:

    Beagle – I hate that you are going through this. Why can’t it just be a straightforward yes or no?

    Thinking of you…

  15. Anonymous Says:

    I’m with Hopeful here – I hate that you’re going through this too.

    *HUG* I will keep hope for you.

  16. Leggy Says:

    How come no comments on your latest post? I’m sorry your little embryo petered out. I was hoping you might get that little miracle. Just what you need as you were mentally moving toward adoption- a mindf*ck, right? I’m sorry…

  17. Anonymous Says:

    I just read you recent post and I want to let you know I am sorry.

  18. Barely Sane Says:

    I’m so very very sorry.

  19. Thalia Says:

    I’m so sorry, sweetie. Of course it was real, and I’m so so sorry it’s gone.

  20. sariel & shlomit Says:

    i am a year late to say i’m sorry this happened to you…a fate i know all too well (three times unlucky)…
    i like your new digs, though…maybe i’ll switch too…
    peace
    shlomit

Leave a Reply

