We’ll miss you Maggie


Maggie in Mamma cat mode (Oscar is laying across her back but he’s so black he barely shows up, only his little white feet!)

Our three “girls” last Christmas: Mischief, Maggie and Molly.
(Maggie’s the upper middle kitty)

Maggie was euthanized this afternoon. I was with her and she went peacefully. We lucked out in getting our favorite vet who handled it all so thoughtfully. It’s such a hard thing to do, but it was even harder to see her suffering. We hope she’s feeling better now, on a catnip cloud in the sky.

Man, this has been one shitty week.

34 Responses to “We’ll miss you Maggie”

  1. kirsten smith Says:

    i just found you through hell and high water. i am so sorry for all you have been through. it is hard and it does suck and the pain is very real. praying for you and your husband!

  2. Lucy Says:

    So sorry for your kitty. That truly sucks.

  3. Lut C. Says:

    Saying goodbye to a beloved pet is heartbreaking, but you did the right thing.

  4. Ellen K. Says:

    I’m so sorry for Maggie’s loss. What a rough time for you.

  5. DD Says:

    I’m so sorry things keep piling up on you. I can only hope that for the moments of sadness, you soon get twice the joy.

  6. OHN Says:

    Damn-I have lost two pups in the last few months so I know how shitty it is. I had to be there too-I was surprised when my wonderful vet told me many people drop off and leave..guess that is the way they handle it best but I had to be there talking to them. I still have 2 kitties that are kinda wondering where their buddies are but are being lavished with attention from all of us (and I think kinda liking it 😉

  7. Lori Says:

    I’m so sorry about Maggie. She was a beautiful cat.

  8. Mollywogger Says:

    Oh, Jesus. What a touch break. I’m sorry to hear about your loss.

  9. Anonymous Says:

    Seriously, can it get any worse? I am so sorry. I cannot imagine how hard that would be.

  10. Kath Says:

    Dear Beagle, I’m so sorry. This is such a very sad time for you…

  11. Anonymous Says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. Sending you a hug.

  12. My Reality Says:

    Oh Beagle, I am so sorry for your loss. It is so hard to watch our animals suffer and it is so hard to make the decision to put them to sleep. I hope you are doing ok. I will be thinking of you.

  13. EJW Says:

    Oh Beagle, that’s so hard. You did the right thing, but it still hurts so much. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  14. daysgoby Says:

    B –

    She looks loved, and happy. I’ll bet she had a wonderful life.

    So sorry, B.

  15. Anonymous Says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. Losing a pet is so hard.

  16. Thalia Says:

    So sorry sweetie, this must have been horribly hard.

  17. Anonymous Says:

    Doing the right thing isn’t easy sometimes. She was a beautiful girl and you were lucky to have each other.

  18. Millie Says:

    She looks like she was a fabulous cat. I think she’s very lucky to have found y’all, and vice verse. I’m so sorry for your loss. Losing a pet is such a hard thing, even when you know she was suffering.

  19. Kristi Says:

    I am so, so sorry about Maggie. I went through the exact same thing with my 21 (yes, you read that right, 21) year old cat just after Christmas 9 years ago. It’s heartbreaking, but you did the right thing. ((Hugs))

  20. shazz Says:

    Sweety I am so so sorry!! xx

  21. amanda Says:

    I’m so very sorry for your loss of Maggie. She was a beautiful kitty.

    I know it’s such a hard decision to make even though we know it’s more important that our decisions benefit our beloved furballs than us. Putting my two renal failure kitties to sleep were two of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do.

    You’re in my thoughts.

  22. Anonymous Says:

    Sorry about Maggie, but glad you could find the strength to make the best decision for her at this very difficult time for you.

  23. Barely Sane Says:

    Big Hugs

  24. Anonymous Says:

    *hug*

    So sorry for your loss.

  25. Anonymous Says:

    I’m so sorry.

    So very sorry.

  26. Sarah Says:

    I am so sorry for you and your loss of Maggie. Take care.

  27. Hopeful Mother Says:

    Beagle, I’m so sorry about your kitty. You did the right thing, as hard as it was and is.

    {HUGS}

  28. Anonymous Says:

    I’m sorry to hear that this was the day. Hopefully you can be comforted by the fact that she is no longer in pain.

  29. Claudia Says:

    Oh, Beagle, I’m so sorry about the loss of your beloved Maggie. My deepest condolences to you guys…

  30. Anonymous Says:

    Oh Beagle, I am so, so sorry for your double whammy of loss this week.

  31. Anonymous Says:

    Oh Beagle, I am so, so sorry for your double whammy of loss this week.

  32. Anonymous Says:

    I am so, so sorry for your double whammy of loss this week.

  33. Leggy Says:

    Will blogger allow me to comment today? It has been very tempermental lately.

    I’m so sorry last week was so utterly horrible. I’m hoping you are feeling slightly better this week, although it often sucks the life out of you for a while.

    I’ve been thinking of you a lot and hoping you are doing alright.

  34. Sami Says:

    I am so sorry for the loss of beautiful Maggie… it sounds as if she was a kitty that helped to make the days bearable.

Leave a Reply

