Happy (Happy?) Blogiversary

A year ago today I started this blog. (Not to be confused with the length of my saga, which rather unfortunately is much longer: coming up on four years soon. Boo Hiss.)

This was my first post with a comment tally of one!

A lot has happened since then. Mostly bad from my point of view, although a bunch of good stuff has happened to my fellow travelers. And I am thrilled for each and every one of you. It does also however drive home the message that, almost all of the bloggers I started with are moms or pregnant by now. The same thing happened when I was a regular on the message boards. That left behind feeling is not a nice one.

So, I had planned to “celebrate” my one year blog anniversary by giving this blog a new title (which I think I have settled on) and a new “look” (which I have made very little progress on!) and last but not least by going passworded.

I have not got my ducks in a row for any of it . . . but I’ll get there (I think!)

I have also been toying with the idea of just fizzling out on the blog thing. Mostly because I am no longer sure whether the positives outweigh the negatives. The positives are really quite great: “Meeting” so many great women out there who are sadly struggling to fight their way out of some version of a similar hell known as infertility. The support and information are invaluable. There are tears, but there are also plenty of laughs. And most of all, IF blogging lets you know that you’re not alone in this.

The negatives? Well, the longer I’m here, the more of you I read. This is not bad in itself, but it sure takes up a hell of a lot of time! I also find that blogging can tend to feed the obsessive aspect of infertility. I keep trying to shake that but it just sticks for me. And last but maybe most painful is the aforementioned left behind thing. I am starting to get quite depressed about that. If I stick around much longer, many of you will start to lap me! That’s hard enough in the fertile world.

So what to do? I am not sure really. I think of quiting cold turkey and I’m not sure I could even if I wanted to. So, how to find a healthy balance? I’m still working on that . . . along with a new template!

Stay tuned.

19 Responses to “Happy (Happy?) Blogiversary”

  1. Heather Says:

    I can understand what you’re saying…but I HAVE to be selfish and beg you to stay. I don’t want you to go!

  2. Shop Girl Says:

    Beagle – you need to do what’s right for you, and this will probably continue to evolve as time goes on. If you do continue blogging and go pwp, I’d love to join you! Your blog is one of my favorites to read 🙂

  3. Lindy Says:

    I must say that I’m proud to have been your very first commentor. My gosh, has it been a year already?

    I’ve been meaning to say that I’m keeping up all the time, just not always commenting since I read through bloglines mostly.

    If you need to wean off of blogging I’ll understand, but I’m with Heather in being selfish and begging you to stay!

  4. Margo Says:

    I am with the others. I understand if you need to stop blogging, but I have been reading you since I started my first blog, and I will miss you terribly.

  5. serenity Says:

    Aw, Beagle… I’d be very sad to see you go.

    But of course I understand the need to move on.

    If you go pwp – I’ll be there too.

    *hug*

  6. Lut Says:

    I suspect my blog addiction is feeding my obsession too, which is bad. I’m not ready to do without yet, but I no longer add new blogs to my reading list easily.

    Now and again the feeling of being left behind creeps up on me, which is not much fun, but bearable for the time being. I can imagine it would become less and less bearable as time goes on.

    Finding a healthy balance is tricky.

    If you do decide to quit, please give us the chance to wave goodbye and wish you well.

  7. DD Says:

    I’ve posted about how blogging sometimes can keep the edge on the wound before so I totally understand this. Just keep me in the know.

  8. Hopeful Mother Says:

    I agree with the others – I (selfishly) don’t want you to go either, but I can understand the feelings you’re having that would make you want to consider it.

    It is difficult for me to balance the writing and reading of blogs with my own emotional state – and hard to tell which is contributing to which sometimes, but all in all I am more informed from reading blogs, and probably a bit more in touch with my feelings. BUT – being away for a while can be a really good thing.

    Whatever you decide to do, please keep us in the loop. I enjoy reading your posts – have been reading for probably 8 months or so, and really do wish you all the best.

    You have been a great source of support to me, Beagle. Thank you.

  9. Lucy Says:

    I’ll miss you if you go. Would you do us a favor – if you either password protect or stop the blog altogether, would you give us a warning, a heads-up, a farewell before you do? I’d just like to know before you’re gone and I would hate to be left wondering.

  10. shazz Says:

    Don’t goooooooooooooo, pls noooooooooooooooooo. But I think most of us understand why if you do but……..noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!

  11. Bea Says:

    Right! Let’s try that comment again. (Terse version this time.)

    1. If you go pwp can you please take me with you?

    2. If you stop blogging can you post any major updates still?

    3. We can all understand you might need a break – you’ll do what you need to do.

    4. We love you Beagle!

    Bea

  12. Baby Blues Says:

    Just know that your blog has touched lives. I take comfort in reading it. I know what you mean too. I’ve met some bloggers who got pregnant and although I’m very happy for them, I couldn’t bare to read about their experience with pregnancy. Envy hurts.

  13. Kath Says:

    Dear Beagle, Happy New Year and a happy bloggiversary to you. May this year be leagues better than 2006 was. (Understatement alert.)

    I can so understand your points about blogging, both the good and the bad. I hope you find a way of keeping the good and minimizing or eliminating the bad. Hoping for you in every way, my dear.

  14. My Reality Says:

    If you do pwp, I would love to come along for the ride.

    Whatever you decide to do, I wish you nothing but good things.

  15. Thalia Says:

    Yup, blogging stresses me out sometimes as i can’t get round everyone i think I should be reading (although bloglines helps, I always feel guilty if I don’t comment). In terms of being left behind, I don’t think anyone in the blogosphere needs to feel that way while I still manage to be resolutely un-pregnant nearly 2 years after starting my blog.

    We’ll be here whatever you decide, and miss you if you go. You’re part of this, with us.

  16. Millie Says:

    Happy Blogiversary!

    I know the feeling of being left behind. That’s a tough one. I hope whatever you decide that your us today is a good one and we get updates. Cause I’m selfish like that.

  17. Just another Jenny Says:

    Promise me that if you go password protected that I’ll get a password? I can’t believe we started blogging on the same day. I wish this year had been kinder to you.

  18. Donna Says:

    My solution to this same dilemna was to make some changes, both with my blog and my blog activities. It was very hard at first to wean myself off of reading just IF blogs, but eventually I found a nice cross-section of IF’ers, horse folks and just other stuff that I find interesting. One step at a time.

  19. GLouise Says:

    Happy blogiversary 🙂

    I wish this year had been kinder to you…

    I know what you mean about blogging “feeding” the obsessive side of infertility. I think I am online during the times I am most unhappy 😉

Leave a Reply

