Bits and Bobs

Well, I am working on my new blog. The title is “Cats in the Cradle – Where the Baby Should Be”

Hey, I never claimed to be clever! It’s the best I could come up with.

I have sent out a couple if “invites” just to test it and hope to have it in working order within the week. I plan to keep Fortune Cookie Follies up for a month or so with basic updates until everyone who wants to follow to the private blog has a chance to do so. No worries there, I am not that efficient at this stuff! It does look like you need a google account though, is this a problem for anyone? It’s not really a passworded blog it’s an invite only set up here on new blogger.

As for my current cycle news, it’s a bit early to be “news” but here are the basics:

Saturday I had my baseline U/S and bloodwork. My FSH was 6.3 and my estrogen was 19. Both these numbers are fine. My ute looked fine too. The only interesting tidbit from that visit was that there were two, count then TWO ultrasound techs in the room with me. (One just newly trained, training another newbie. This is called: see one, do one, teach one.) But here’s the punch line . . . they were BOTH PREGNANT. How lucky am I?

My protocol if you can call it that for IUI is: Follistim 200iu until my estrogen reaches some magic number (near 200 or so) and then we add Menopur 75iu and some Ganirelix. This seems to work well for me in terms of getting a good stim. I anticipate IUI on or about Monday. We’ll see how close my guess is.

Today for follie check #1 there was some nice activity but nothing measurable yet. (This is normal). My Estrogen was 145. Re-check on Thursday. I am happy to say that today involved a non-pregnant U/S tech. My old faithful E. with the generous blue goo tendency. I’ll take blue goo over round bellies any day.
(Unless it’s my round belly!)

On the WW front: my first week I lost 2.2 lbs (that included a New Years binge). This week has been good up until today when I had the munchies all day. I walked 2.5 miles to try to limit the damage. We’ll see Thursday when I “weigh in.” I don’t expect to get skinny any time soon, but if I could get a few of these ART induced pounds off that would be great.

On the kitty cat front: Molly needed another trip to the vet for her abscess. It is draining REALLY gross stuff. I mean make you gag from the smell of it stuff. So they flushed and drained again, trimmed away dead tissue and gave me a second antibiotic and a scrub solution to use on her. She runs every time she sees me. Poor thing. Poor me. It is starting to look better today. But the poor dear has this oozing hole on the top of her sweet little head. A stinky little hole (sorry, did I belabour that point???)

Never a dull moment in the Beagle household.

So . . . that’s me all caught up. I’m off to work on the new blog a bit. I gave up on trying to give it a fancy look, I’m just going for functional at this point.

9 Responses to “Bits and Bobs”

  1. Beagle Says:

    PS I guess that means I’ll keep blogging. Maybe in moderation if I can manage it.

  2. Margo Says:

    I am glad to see that your cycle is off to a good start! It looks like we are cyclesisters!

  3. Carol Says:

    I’d love to be in on the new password blog. thanks. šŸ™‚

    I personally think they shouldn’t let pregnant people work at fertility clinics, it just doesn’t seem like a good idea.

    Sorry about your oozy kitty. I had that last summer – my kitty had a nasty one on his backside that they had to sedate him and clean out 3 times! and it was oozing gross stuff – so I totally know what you’re dealing with.

  4. Bea Says:

    Yay for blogging! Can’t wait to see the new place (please?) and I think it’s a great title.

    And oh my goodness – both of them? You can’t script that stuff. Glad it’s off to a good start otherwise and I’m sure that yucky stuff oozing from kitty is better out than in, and it’ll heal quickly from here.

    Bea

  5. Bea Says:

    both of them pregnant, that is. Realised I may have been being a bit oblique with that.

    Bea

  6. Heather Says:

    Congrats on the weight lose!! That is awesome.

    Sorry about the kitty. It sounds horrible. Is she in pain?

  7. DD Says:

    Sooo…what magic do I need to perform to gain access to your new site, if you would allow me?

  8. Just another Jenny Says:

    I hope I get a chance to check out the new blog. Congratulations on the weight loss. I hope the scale continues to be kind.

  9. Chris Says:

    Please please pick me, pick me šŸ™‚
    I am just starting to get used to blogging and things are changing all over..I now have to use the google thing to leave comments for some of my favorites and nobody will know who I am šŸ˜¦ anyway–OHN=Chris If you invite me, I will follow šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

