Juno

There has been some buzz about the new movie Juno.

As a work of fiction it is getting much praise for being a fresh new comedy. As a depiction of open adoption in the USA today, it is getting some harsh words from others. There is also a bit of a radio silence in blogland from those afraid to see it and / or afraid to say what they think of it once they have. (I am including myself in the latter).

RESOLVE offers this commentary and from there you can link to a discussion if you like (registration required).

Anyone want to speak up here about what you thought of the film?

One question the controversy leaves me with, is whether we can really hold filmmakers responsible for depicting (anyone’s version of) reality in their fictional works.

I mean is there a rule that says that blonds can’t be portrayed as dumb in movies? Or rural folks as hicks and so on . . . Is there a rule that says we can’t portray certain cultural stereotypes in films? It happens every day. It bothers me when I see unfair stereotypes but we’ve all laughed at a blond joke or newfie jokes (for my Canadian friends). Sure, we hope that negative images aren’t perpetuated, but Hollywood has never been my source of education or realistic portrayals.

So is it fair to expect Juno to be more than it is? Might it just be another comedy vying for our laughs and our movie-going dollars? Or is it an insult to real life members of the adoption triad everywhere?

Thoughts?

3 Responses to “Juno”

  1. luna Says:

    ok, nobody’s biting, so I’ll give. first, as you said, let’s remember it’s a work of fiction. This is initially acknowledged by the resolve article, but then quickly forgotten as it goes on to criticize the film for not representing open adoption more accurately. this is not a documentary about open adoption or infertility. it’s not a film about adoption. it’s not a film against abortion. it’s a fictional story about a teenage girl’s loss of innocence, from her point of view. ok, now that I got that out…

    I am one of the i/fs who actually enjoyed the film. sure, I have criticism (not even counting any depiction of adoption). my biggest problem was the stereotype of the infertile woman (as cold, crass, heartless, driven, corporate, etc.). but I think there’s an interesting twist that undermines that portrayal and what we are initially led to believe, when we later learn that she’s actually the one with the heart (with a reason for her behavior). sure it still made me cringe. but I generally enjoyed the writing and acting, and I actually laughed and cried. I can’t say that about many movies these days.

    btw, pamela jeanne, katarinajellybeana and others also have interesting posts with comments on this, check them out.

    ~luna

  2. La La Says:

    Hi! I surfed onto your page from another blog (I hope you don’t mind)….I’ll have to catch up on your story, but I had noticed the post about Juno and I wanted to say that I land firmly in the “too afraid to go see it” catagory. It looks like such a cute movie, but I’m so scared I would leave the theater mad. =/

  3. PamelaJeanne Says:

    Hi Beagle,
    As you know I wrote about this a few weeks ago. I have since commented on another blog raising similar questions that the cautions offered by RESOLVE and the Washington Post reporter are absolutely valid … and it’s worthwhile to use this as an opportunity to refocus on the real world of adoption, family planning and infertility.

    At the same time, I would hope no one in their right mind goes to a comedy to get guidance on such a personal matter as family building, just as I would hope no one sits down to watch the movie Airplane to understand how the airlines and air travel work…not a clean analogy clearly, but this story line makes no illusions about being a how-to guide but rather celebrates absurdity.

    As to how hard the themes and images might impact an infertile person, that is much harder to predict. There are days when I see babies and smile and other days when I see them and weep inside. Our triggers are buried deep and not always are they easy to control.

Leave a Reply

